Spicy Watermelon Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made for Recipe Group. Hubby and I both liked this, we ate almost the whole bowl at dinner one night. You know when something is 'moreish' it's pretty darned good! I used a chili garlic sauce and rice vinegar. Lemon basil is a nice touch, little lighter than regular basil with that lemony undertone. Eating tomato and melon together was a little weird for me, but it works well together. It was definitely spicier the next day for the chili sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Easy and a refreshing change. Used Thai-Style Chili Sauce, which had just the right kick and a great balance of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 05, July 2014 ~ A unique combination of ingredients and taste. I didn't have rice wine vinegar, so I used rice vinegar, and only had regular basil. Even with those two subs, we enjoyed this salad. It had heat the night I made it, but it had a lot more heat the following day from the Sriracha®. The color combinations from the watermelon and tomatoes made for a nice serving presentation. Thanks, Doug for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
We have even roasted it in the oven as a topping for salmon - 400 for 20 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
We love this refreshing salad! I used Black Cherry Tomatoes and Basil from my garden. The flavors go together so well with the sweet of the honey and then the tang of the vinegar. Give this recipe another five stars because it is so beautiful. Thank you Doug Matthews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This was a very tasty and refreshing salad. Would definitely make it again. I used red wine vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar. Wasn't able to find sriracha so improvised with minced garlic and chile powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Unique flavors... very yummy! Also added in some corn and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States