Spicy Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is a good base recipe but needed a wee bit more flavor for my taste buds so I add some red wine, pinch o salt, black pepper and a bay leaf. Also used fresh veggies instead of frozen. Yummy meal for a cold night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Really good. I added a pinch of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
A little disappointing for me. Didn't care for the combo of herbs. I need to discern which one(s) don't do it for me, because otherwise I liked the base of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
i didnt use noodles but it is really good!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I used a beef soup bone & water, no canned broth. Added bay leaf, 1 Tblsp barley, about 5 cloves garlic, sliced yellow zucchini, FRESH basil, fresh cilantro, in place of parsley; sauteed onion, garlic, zucchini in EVOO before adding to pot. This cooked for several hours. Used a potato, rather than pasta. This did not seem at all "spicy," though, so I added about 5 shakes of chili pepper flakes. Also needs salt and fresh ground pepper. When soup was done, I stirred in the chopped fresh cilantro. VERY good soup, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by Thill40397
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Soup was easy to make. Overall flavorful. I did not care for the beef broth, will try more tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thill40397

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Terrific flavor! Loved the spiciness! I used fresh veggies, including a minced jalapeno (hubby threw that in!) I doubled the recipe as it seems impossible for us to make a small pot of soup. The broth is just excellent in flavor-which is what makes my DH happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is really very good and tasty! I like foods with a little spice but not too much, this is perfect. I would make one change, do not put the pasta into the soup/stew it takes over the dish and soaks up the juice. I would recommend cooking it on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
very good.. I changed some things only because I did't have everything.. use ground beef, 1/2 lb of beef..rice instead of pasta this was the kicker 1 can of rotel tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Best vegetable soup I have made in my life. I adjusted a few things but nothing that compromised the recipe. We ate a double batch within 4 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States