Spicy Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
This was my first try at making soup. I doubled the cayenne because we like things spicy and put everything in the crockpot after browning the beef with the garlic and onions and cooked it on low for 6 hrs. The flavor was pretty good but it lacked the depth I was looking for. I added a half can of tomato sauce, paprika and coriander to the leftovers and cooked a little more. It was more to my liking after that. Next time I think I'll leave out some of the water, use a whole box of beef stock and a whole can of tomato sauce to try to get a richer flavor. Overall, a good recipe. Just needed a few tweaks to suit our palates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I love this recipe and my family just devours it! I do use beef broth instead of water, I add canned corn at the end instead of mixed veggies and I never add the pasta until I'm ready to serve it. It freezes wonderful, just add the pasta as you make it. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I love soup and am always looking for good recipes. This is great minus the pasta. Great flavors and a good cut of meat makes the difference! Nice balance of herbs and the addition of tomatoes rounds it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I absolutly love it! I used 1/2 of the cayenne pepper enough to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook50

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I changed this up like most reviewers, using hamburger instead of roast and a variety of fresh vegetables instead of frozen, and used a combo of orzo pasta and 1 can of white beans in place of the other pasta. The broth though, I followed the recipe to a T and is why we gave it 5 stars. The combo of the garlic and herbs really is spot on and the resulting broth is out of this world. If you're looking for spicy, this isn't for you but if you like a tasty blend of spices, this one is for you. We will definitely have again throughout the fall/winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Delicious! I added frozen sweet corn and one can or Rotel. Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
very good i used this as the base to my veggy soup. i used canned veggies and added more spices. love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The wife really liked this recipe! I thought it was good also and I am not a big beef soup eater. I added some pasta and was short the parsley but it still turned out good. I will be making this again sometime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Overall, a good twist on a solid soup for cold weather. Simmered this for 2 1/2 hours and the beef came out delectable. For some reason though, this was much spicier than I thought it would be. I followed the recipe as written and was surprised by the heat. Wife ate one bowl and said she didn't want anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I have been looking for a great beef vegetable soup and this one rocks!!!! I went shopping for the spices and forgot the beef broth so I just added the 16 oz of extra water. I think it turned out very well. Thanks Don Austin TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States