Spicy Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
My husband is a soup fiend, so I made this. I have always HATED soup, but I tried this and was really surprised. It has the best flavor. I did add more garlic and onions, potato, and used beef boullion cubes since I didn't have the can broth. Also, I used the end of some beef I had on the bone, and added it right in with the beef as it simmered. I simmered it 3 hours prior so it would be tender. I really think doing that along with using the beef bone is what made it so delicious. My husband had 3 bowls! And my 15 month old even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Excellent. I left out the cayenne pepper, mushrooms and pasta. I used fresh carrots and potatoes chopped and canned beans, peas, and corn. Very tasty. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Perfectly acceptable beef vegetable soup. I wouldn't call it "spicy" by any stretch of the imagination. I doubled the cayenne and it still wasn't "spicy", but was nice and tasty. I cooked it all day in the crockpot after browning the meat, onion, garlic and celery in a pan, and it was delicious. The meat was very tender. I used two cans of tomato sauce and a big box of beef broth in place of water because we like our soup thick. Substituted a diced potato for the pasta as another reviewed suggested. I'll certainly make this one again. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This was a great winter soup for my kids and husband. I used what was on hand; 2 1/2 pds pot roast, doubling the beef broth and stewed tomatoes (used italian spiced, which added to the flavor). I added two fresh zuchinis, 1 pound fresh carrots, and fresh mushrooms and celery with frozen corn. I only had organo and and basil, also added a few dashes of paprika. Everone loved it, including me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I exchaged the pasta for potatoes and added a cup of V-8 juice to make more liquid. Needed salt and pepper as well. Will make again. I made a double recipe and am trying freezing the soup in three cup containers for future cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Omit the pasta, it soaks up too much of the liquid, and there's not much of that. I'd make it again but double the spices, including garlic, and add another can of beef stock for more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is really very good and tasty! I like foods with a little spice but not too much, this is perfect. I would make one change, do not put the pasta into the soup/stew it takes over the dish and soaks up the juice. I would recommend cooking it on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I used a beef soup bone & water, no canned broth. Added bay leaf, 1 Tblsp barley, about 5 cloves garlic, sliced yellow zucchini, FRESH basil, fresh cilantro, in place of parsley; sauteed onion, garlic, zucchini in EVOO before adding to pot. This cooked for several hours. Used a potato, rather than pasta. This did not seem at all "spicy," though, so I added about 5 shakes of chili pepper flakes. Also needs salt and fresh ground pepper. When soup was done, I stirred in the chopped fresh cilantro. VERY good soup, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Terrific flavor! Loved the spiciness! I used fresh veggies, including a minced jalapeno (hubby threw that in!) I doubled the recipe as it seems impossible for us to make a small pot of soup. The broth is just excellent in flavor-which is what makes my DH happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Didn't add the mushrooms and cooked my pasta separately in water. Added two medium potatoes and a lot of salt. Served it with a side of crusty bread Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States