Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Yum! I *love* this recipe. I make it about once a week. I only use about 1/2 tsps of cayenne because 1 1/2 tsps was way too spicy for me. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WindyCityMom
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is my first time buying/using garam masala so I'm not 100% sure which of the spices I would tweak, but I would tweak something. I think maybe a little too much salt, and I'd maybe cut down the garam masala. I also noticed too late that others suggested bulking it up so at the last minute I added a bag of frozen spinach as well as a tablespoon of corn starch to help it thicken a bit. All in all, it does taste good, and I will certainly try it again with a few possible tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Really good and healthy! I used low fat coconut mild from trader joes and added cauliflower. Tasted even better the next day for lunch! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was a great recipe--easy enough for a newbie to Indian, but also tasty enough for someone like me looking to expand my stable of go-to Indian dishes. We substituted heavy cream for the coconut milk (I hate coconut) and it turned out great. I will cut back on the cayenne next time, to tone down the eat a little. The recipe as is is nice and spicy with good flavor, and it's not just hot for shot's sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I used 5 large potatoes as one commenter suggested, spinach and two cans of chick peas. I like chick peas. drained and rinsed. consistency was wonderful. I had a brand new cayenne pepper and oh my gosh, hot, hot, hot but so good. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was horrible,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Eudora, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was a good recipe, though intensive and took a long time to make for a weeknight (1.5hrs). I think the assembled mixture needs to simmer for more than 5-10 minutes, especially with the huge amount of spices it calls for. It takes longer for everything to meld together. Considering all the substitutions I made, I think it is a foolproof dish that's going to be good no matter what. I made the following substitutions/changes: I used jarred minced garlic instead of fresh, red onion instead of yellow, 1 tsp of cayenne instead of 1.5 tsp, 1 can of tomatoes, okra and corn plus 2 fresh tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes, 3 different beans instead of garbanzo, frozen English peas instead of canned and light coconut milk instead of regular. I did not have garam masala so I found a recipe for it online and combined nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger and cardamon as a substitute. I also added 4 Tbsp. of brown sugar to make it taste more like massaman curry. My husband LOVED it. It made 4 huge servings so we will have it again tomorrow night. Tip: don't forget to get some Naan bread to have on the side! You'll need it to cut all that spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I couldn't find any Garam Masala so I increased the curry and cumin a little. A little on the spicy side, but that's my flavor, anyway! I would use this for entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilman, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madisonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
My hubs and I are vegan and love curry so wanted to give this a go since it got such great reviews. I made a few alterations: Used 3 potatoes (2 red and one russet) Used about 1/2 onion 1 clove of garlic 1/2 tsp of cayenne (and even that was super hot for us!) 2 tsp of curry paste (since this is what I had on hand) omitted the ginger omitted the peas Added cut up califlour, brocolli, red bell peppers. We served it over brown rice and it was really delish!!!! I will cut the cayenne down even a bit more next time (as it's really spicy with even just 1/2 tsp) and I will add maybe another 1/2 can of coconut milk. I think with the added veggies it soaked up too much of the milk and we like ours to have more of a soupy consistancy. I'll definitely put this into the menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I thought it seemed an excess of spice. I put in only 1/4 t cayenne, 2 t cumin, 2 t garam masala, and 2 t curry. I sauteed the spicy with the onions and garlic. I put in about 1/2 c of chicken broth to simmer with the chickpeas a bit while I waited for the potatoes finish cooking. I didn't have any tomatoes so I skipped that. Totally loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States