Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
poor recipe since one and one-half teaspoons of cayenne pepper is way too much. I made it as described without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
A little too much cumin for my taste. Next time I'll omit it completely and substitute more curry powder and garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this recipe almost exactly as printed. Only change I made was that I omitted the chilli pepper powder. I felt the curry powder I used was plenty spicy. I used white rose potatoes because they keep their shape better than russet potatoes. This recipe may not be completely "authentic" tasting but very close and absolutely delicious. Very easy to make too. If you can't decide what to make for dinner, I recommend trying this out. I served it with Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I like spicy dishes more than most (particularly Thai), and I significantly reduced the spices for my family, but it was still way to hot. The heat overpowered the garam masala, ginger, and coconut milk. I used one extra potato, and it was much saucier than what the photo shows. I think I may try it again, and use the same ingredients in VERY different amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this just as instructed, and added a tsp of red pepper flakes for extra heat. OMG this is amazing!! My fiance and I aren't vegans, but this will be a regular meal for us from now on! Yay meatless Monday dish! Toasted naan makes it absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made this for company and everyone loved it! I added red and orange bell pepper strips towards the end of cooking. Next time I will cut back to 1 tsp cayenne, it was a little too hot for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Loved this used olive oil, less coconut milk and used a sweet potato, left out the peas... Delightful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I just finished eating this and it was lovely! Rich and with great flavours. Next time I will cut down on the cayenne pepper though; I had already cut it down to one teaspoon and even that was too spicy for me. I added more potatoes, omitted the ginger (I didn't have any), and used frozen peas but otherwise made it exactly as stated. I will definitely be making this again. Next time I might try serving it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Køge, Sjælland, Denmark
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I thought this was a really good recipe! After reading some of the reviews which said that it was kind of "saucy" I added more potatoes. I was craving a curry dish and this very easy one hit the spot! It is definitely even better the next day. It can get spicy, so for those of you who don't like it spicy, you may want to back off on the cayenne. For my husband and I, we add lots of spice. Substituting serrano chili peppers for the cayenne as you saute the onions may work very well...you would still get the spice, but it kicks in earlier and doesn't linger, like cayenne does. I found it to be very filling and satisfying. My husband is a cowboy and wants meat at every meal, so I sauteed some chicken thighs on the side for him and he was happy. He also doesn't like garbanzo beans, but he said he didn't even notice them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this recipe without the ginger root (didn't have any) and my family loved it! They love Indian food and thought that this was better than one of our favorite Indian restaurants. I simmered mine a little longer, which made the coconut milk really thicken up! Amazing flavor and perfect recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States