Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was good, but I did NOT use the cayenne pepper because I don't like spicy food. I think next time I would add more coconut milk, only because I prefer to taste it more in the curry. This recipe makes a LOT of food and is so filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
My picky husband said that it tasted like from an Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Excellent! Will make again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I made this recipe as stated except some minor changes. I used 1 1/2 tsp of ginger powder since I had no fresh ginger, coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and added more potatoes as per other reviews. AMAZING!! Officially up there on my list of favourite vegan dishes. When making for guests I would cut the cayenne pepper in half, but I personally am a fan of how spicy and authentic this dish tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe is absolutely delicious, easy, and affordable!! Here are my tips and tricks: I used two large russet potatoes instead of 4. This yields more than enough, not sure what potatoes this recipe actually calls for. I only used half of an onion as I found my onion quite large. Lastly, I could not find garam Marsala so I just added a dash of cinnamon and ground cloves. This recipe is definitely spicy so make sure you are in the mood or have a nice salad on the side to cool it down! This recipe leaves for a lot of leftovers!! It would be great to freeze some and have easy microwave lunches or dinners! We need more vegan recipes like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this exactly like the recipe except i only added half of the cayenne pepper. Thank goodness i did. It's super spicy! The flavor is really good. I will make this again but with even less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I'm a meat eater, and tried this recipe. Um...the best curry I've ever had! The garam masala and ginger add beautiful flavor to the carribean like curry. I added more potatoes (6) like others recommended and agree it was beneficial. I also used a "Nigerian" ground red pepper for extra spiciness! Want to add meat to this but afraid it will take away from it. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Delicious!!!! I scaled down the portion size to 2, but ended up accidentally dumping WAY to many frozen peas in the pan, so I kind of winged the rest of it and tried to adjust the spices. I didn't use cayenne since I had a fresh jalapeno, I used part of that. It turned out wonderfully warming and delicious! The only thing I added besides substituting the jalapeno, was to add fresh coriander (cilantro)at the end of cooking. I can hardly wait to have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow!!! TRY THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Easycooking
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I really enjoyed this meal. I didn't have masala and I used red lentils instead of chic peas. Other than that, I followed the recipe. I served it with Jasmine rice and would have loved some avocado with it, but I didn't have any on hand. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Weston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I would definitely make this again! I used no cayenne pepper and it was spicy enough without it. I used 1 potato and added one eggplant and one package of tofu. I also used lite coconut milk. The sauce was the perfect consistency and it is full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States