Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Be warned, like the title says this one is really spicy. I didn't use as much curry or cayenne and it was still a bit spicy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made this recipe EXACTLY as stated, and it came out so much better than I imagined it would! I thought it would be cheap and cheerful, and useful as a side to something, but it is absolutely delicious! The combination of spices is completely spot on, giving a very rich and authentic flavour, with a good amount of spicyness, but not enough to hurt! Of course it tastes better the next day, as any curry does. The only things I would change in this recipe when I next make it (As I definitely shall), is that I will increase the amount of potatoes by at least 50%, to six or seven potatoes, and use only an 8oz can of chickpeas. The curry as it is, is more like a chickpea curry with potatoes, but I'd like potatoes to be the main feature. I think this curry would be very good too with spinach in it, instead of the peas, although its great as it is! ps. Im neither vegan nor vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Great Recipe! I wrote a lengthy review detailing the outcome but this lack-luster website just erased it. The recipe is really good. Use large potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was very flavorful and had a great texture. I omitted the chickpeas and added cauliflower, which I steamed over the boiling potatoes. I agree with other reviewers that this could have used more potatoes; it's pretty saucy. I wasn't in the mood for super spicy, so I used 1 tsp cayenne. I also reduced the curry to 1 tbsp, which was just right for us. Excellent over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
The unusual combination of flavours works well. I reduced the garam masala to 1 teaspoon, because I found it overpowering and I used a heaped tablespoon of good quality curry paste. Frozen peas (added at the end) tastes better than tinned. I added some diced, cooked chicken for my husband and he rated it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
loved this recipe!! i'm not a fan of cayenne, so i added two whole green chiles, seeds and all. i also upped the amount of chickpeas, omitted the potato altogether and added some baby spinach at the end and stirred until it was wilted. noticed there were some comments about an overabundace of sauce.....i served this with rice AND naan to sop up all the delcious curry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I followed the recipe but added more potatoes and it was too spicy, and I like spicy food. The flavors are good, but next time I will omit the cayenne pepper, use less garam masala, and use large peas instead of petite. The sauce can easily be used as a base for other recipes. I'll try it with other veggies and put it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Really, really yummy. Next time I'll cut down on the cayenne pepper but this is a winner for the amount of food with a unique flavor and minimal work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was very, very good. Thank you so much! I took a shortcut and used 2 cans of small potatoes (diced). They saved time and effort and worked very well. I used about 2/3 can of coconut milk. I've grown accustomed to cutting coconut because my daughter doesn't like the taste to be overpowering. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I really liked this. It is spicy, but it doesn't take away from the dish. This is going in to my frequent dishes I make. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARE1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States