Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it multiple times. The only adjustments I've made are to add more veggies (broccoli, carrots, sometimes squash), use a fresh diced tomato instead of the can, and use 2 cans of coconut milk to make it a little thinner so that I can serve it over rice. The spices are perfect- even with the extra can of coconut milk. (I use lite coconut milk as I find the regular to be a little too "coconutty" for me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I loved this recipe. I made a few adjustments based on what I had on hand. First, I did not have any Garam Masala but happened to find a recipe for it on here that worked great. Second, I did not have any peas but used another reviewers suggestion and added spinach instead. Wonderful substitution. Lastly, I did not have any coconut milk (yikes!) so I substituted almond milk. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was DELICIOUS! The only changes I made were using frozen peas instead of canned, and I guess I did de-vegan it by using ghee instead of vegetable oil, but it was great. And the spices were fabulous - I make a lot of Indian curries, so I was a bit sceptical about using garam masala and curry powder, but it was so much more convenient not having to do all of the grinding and roasting of spices, and I couldn't tell a difference in the flavor. Definitely a keeper - I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Very taste, I love it. With coconut milk everything taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I do this using green beans instead of peas, and soy cream instead of cocoanut milk. Comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Finally got the spicy my husband and I were looking for! And being a new vegan, this definitely hit the spot....and my husband is none the wiser that I pulled a vegan dish over on him!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trainwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
We just made this for dinner tonight. We left out the peas, and added some edamame, carrots and red bell pepper - this added some nice color and flavors. Next time I would substantially reduce the cayenne pepper - this certainly made it spicy and, for me at least, it drowned out the other good spices in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We love this recipe! I added a few more potatoes and used light coconut milk. I will make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stacee07
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
DELICIOUS. Was it spicy? YES! Do I like spicy? YES! Can't wait to make again. Below are my changes- also note that after I made the sauce I put it in a crockpot. I then cooked my potatoes and carrots and added to crockpot and let sit on low for 4 hours. Then it went into fridge overnite. Next day, heated up in crockpot for 3 hours on low. YUMMMMMM! Changes made: 1 teaspoon cayenne, 1 teaspoon Adobo instead of the salt, carrots instead of garbanzos, lite coconut milk instead of regular. Cook potatoes less...a bit less than "tender" Omissions: no peas. Additions: 1 tablespoon sugar (heated with spices). 1 can tomato paste. 1 tablespoon lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. Lots of flavor and easy to prepare. Great spicy kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States