Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
We just made this for dinner tonight. We left out the peas, and added some edamame, carrots and red bell pepper - this added some nice color and flavors. Next time I would substantially reduce the cayenne pepper - this certainly made it spicy and, for me at least, it drowned out the other good spices in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We love this recipe! I added a few more potatoes and used light coconut milk. I will make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stacee07
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
DELICIOUS. Was it spicy? YES! Do I like spicy? YES! Can't wait to make again. Below are my changes- also note that after I made the sauce I put it in a crockpot. I then cooked my potatoes and carrots and added to crockpot and let sit on low for 4 hours. Then it went into fridge overnite. Next day, heated up in crockpot for 3 hours on low. YUMMMMMM! Changes made: 1 teaspoon cayenne, 1 teaspoon Adobo instead of the salt, carrots instead of garbanzos, lite coconut milk instead of regular. Cook potatoes less...a bit less than "tender" Omissions: no peas. Additions: 1 tablespoon sugar (heated with spices). 1 can tomato paste. 1 tablespoon lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. Lots of flavor and easy to prepare. Great spicy kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Yum! I *love* this recipe. I make it about once a week. I only use about 1/2 tsps of cayenne because 1 1/2 tsps was way too spicy for me. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WindyCityMom
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is my first time buying/using garam masala so I'm not 100% sure which of the spices I would tweak, but I would tweak something. I think maybe a little too much salt, and I'd maybe cut down the garam masala. I also noticed too late that others suggested bulking it up so at the last minute I added a bag of frozen spinach as well as a tablespoon of corn starch to help it thicken a bit. All in all, it does taste good, and I will certainly try it again with a few possible tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Really good and healthy! I used low fat coconut mild from trader joes and added cauliflower. Tasted even better the next day for lunch! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was a great recipe--easy enough for a newbie to Indian, but also tasty enough for someone like me looking to expand my stable of go-to Indian dishes. We substituted heavy cream for the coconut milk (I hate coconut) and it turned out great. I will cut back on the cayenne next time, to tone down the eat a little. The recipe as is is nice and spicy with good flavor, and it's not just hot for shot's sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I used 5 large potatoes as one commenter suggested, spinach and two cans of chick peas. I like chick peas. drained and rinsed. consistency was wonderful. I had a brand new cayenne pepper and oh my gosh, hot, hot, hot but so good. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was horrible,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Eudora, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States