Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Really good hearty filling and plentiful. ....and spicy. Used 1 tsp. Cayenne & no Masala still very spicy. Cooked with coconut oil & sweet potatoes instead, poured over wild & brown rice. Really yummy but will do less cayenne next time. Definitely a new go to meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was a good curry, except for the cayenne pepper. 1 1/2 teaspoons is way to much. I like spicy, but this made it so you couldn't even eat it. Maybe it was the kind that I bought all organic, and I only put in 1 tsp. I am probably going to have to throw it out because of how spicy it is. If I make it agin I will leave this out. Otherwise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Made this recipe for a group of four, and everyone loved it. I reduced the amount of cayenne pepper (1/4 tsp instead of 1 1/2tsp) and curry powder to make it less spicy, but it still turned out flavourful and very satisfying. Even the meateaters in the group liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Muirhead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have been looking for a recipe to replace the Japanese curry paste I buy at the grocery store. This is the one! This will be my go to recipe whenever I am in the mood for spicy curry. I did reduce the cayenne in half for my daughter, but it was still too spicy for her, although my husband and I loved it. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
this was pretty good, not the best I've had but still pretty decent. it was a bit too salty for me but I fixed it by adding a spoonful of peanut butter (made it thicker and gave it more texture). I added carrots, bell pepper, kale, and mushrooms and it made all the difference! being a vegetarian for quite sometime now I enjoy the different flavors of the veggies and it adds an attractive pop of colour if you're serving it to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Awesome spicy and tasty, definitely a keeper, thank you so much for sharing this recipe :) The house smelled so wonderful just like an Indian restaurant and the food was restaurant quality or better, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I liked it but most of the family only ate half their bowl while pairing with a lot of water. This is even after I dialed back the cayenne a bit. I'd probably half that and maybe do 1 tbs (3 tsp) of curry next time. Was good and not too hard to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
We've made this twice now. Once with all the recommended spice measurements, and again with the spices reduced. I loved it both times. I prefer my curry a little sweeter, so I added raisins and a bit of honey (nulling the vegan attribute, I know...) to my own serving. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I added some other vegetables that I had on hand (mushrooms, zucchini, bell peppers, and cauliflower). This recipe is delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This is a creamy recipe that is busy with flavors. There were two adjustments I made from the original recipe to suite my preferences. Even though this recipe is a warm one, I cut the amount of cayenne pepper in half. That way the brain can focus on all the other flavors from the various other spices. I adjusted the cooking time from the posted recipe to prevent over cooking the potatoes (shortened the length.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States