Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I am such a curry fanatic and this went beyond my expectations! I loved it. I used red potatoes and red onions and added frozen mixed veggies (broccoli, carrots, zucchini, and cauliflower). I also added 5 teaspoons of curry instead of 4, but that's just because I love it so much. Thanks for this recipe I will be making it often! For those who are not vegan or vegetarian and are using it as a side dish, this goes great with the coconut chicken recipe on here by Katie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Couldn't get my hands on garam masala, so I used some green curry paste instead. I also left out the peas. This recipe exceeded my expectations!! It was very abundant in flavor and just the right amount of spice. This is now my go to curry recipe :) Next time I will try adding some carrots just to make it a bit more nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Itsgrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This is the recipe I've been waiting for!! The spice amounts are just right and make this dish just like from a restaurant, although I didn't add any cayenne since I didn't want it to be spicy. I used only about half the potatoes, and added a sweet potato, three small carrots, and about a cup of halved Brussels sprouts since I had them in the fridge. This recipe can accommodate lots of different kinds of veggies, and would be wonderful with some paneer (although it wouldn't be vegan then).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Super easy and very tasty! The only change I will make next time is that I will add more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was really good. I couldn't find garam masala so I excluded it. I added some red curry paste and also added tofu and substituted edamame for the peas. Served with white rice and naan. Recipes makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was really yummy and easy to make for a Sunday lunch. I cut back on the spices, as my husband is not a spicy fan...But I should have gone full-bore with this! Next time I make it I will use all the spice called for...I used left-over baked potatoes so I skipped that step. I think I could add some other vegies next time, and serve it with rice. I minced up some leftover cilantro to garnish the top...Very good recipe. My friend made this recipe also, and he used squash cubes instead of the potatoes...He loved that variation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Really good hearty filling and plentiful. ....and spicy. Used 1 tsp. Cayenne & no Masala still very spicy. Cooked with coconut oil & sweet potatoes instead, poured over wild & brown rice. Really yummy but will do less cayenne next time. Definitely a new go to meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was a good curry, except for the cayenne pepper. 1 1/2 teaspoons is way to much. I like spicy, but this made it so you couldn't even eat it. Maybe it was the kind that I bought all organic, and I only put in 1 tsp. I am probably going to have to throw it out because of how spicy it is. If I make it agin I will leave this out. Otherwise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Made this recipe for a group of four, and everyone loved it. I reduced the amount of cayenne pepper (1/4 tsp instead of 1 1/2tsp) and curry powder to make it less spicy, but it still turned out flavourful and very satisfying. Even the meateaters in the group liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Muirhead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have been looking for a recipe to replace the Japanese curry paste I buy at the grocery store. This is the one! This will be my go to recipe whenever I am in the mood for spicy curry. I did reduce the cayenne in half for my daughter, but it was still too spicy for her, although my husband and I loved it. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States