Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Great recipe-yes! I'm vegan and oil free and nut free so I used a few different things. I used something called muchi curry so I had no need for cayenne. It was plenty hot with out it. I also used Braggs liquid amino's to sauté the onions and garlic. Works great if your avoiding oil. And since I don't do nuts, I used half soy milk and half potato water instead of coconut milk-not as sweet yet does a great job! Everyone here loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I tried this out for the first time yesterday, and it came out pretty good. I think I boiled my potatoes too long, because the texture of the curry was much like potato leek soup - not bad, but not what I was expecting. Anyway, that was my blunder! I used the ready-minced garlic in a jar, less onion and tomato (due to a boyfriend who doesn't like either), and completely omitted the cayenne pepper (I wasn't looking for a spicy dish, but wanted to try an easy Indian curry at home). The next time I try this, I'm going to use more potatoes as other people suggest (and not boil them as long!) and reduce the amount of coconut milk used. It was very saucy, but perhaps too much. But I agree with whoever said the spice combination was spot on - mmm mmmm! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Katieai
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I made this tonight pretty much exactly as the recipe states and it was delicious. My meat eating boyfriend agreed. He added sriracha hot sauce to his which was a great addition to the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
after reading the reviews carefully and noticing that a lot of people said that the curry needed depth, I added a tablespoon of mango chutney at the end and let it simmer for 20minutes instead of the few minutes called for in the recipe. it was absolutely outstanding...sweet, hot and tangy! I also added cauliflower and carrots simply because I needed to use them up. a very very good curry with the mango chutney added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was so easy to make and quick. Followed the recipe except only used 1 tsp of cayenne pepper because I was afraid it would be too spicy, and I'm glad i did. It ended up the perfect level of spicy. I also drizzled the potatoes in olive oil and baked them in the oven for 20 minutes instead of boiling in water (and I left on the skins). Other than that followed the recipe as is and served over rice. It was a tiny bit too salty so I think I'll reduce the salt to 1 tsp, but other than that it was delicious and will become a staple in my dinner rotations. I love curries and have always been intimidated by the recipes, so glad to have an easy one I can make in a jiffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This recipe fit right in with us as we are a vegetarian family. The only reason it doesn't warrant 5-stars for me is a personal preference of spiciness. Folks - this is extremely hot! I used 1/2 tsp of cayenne (my cayenne is quite hot) and although very flavorful and creamy, this ended up a bit too hot for my own taste but my fiance loved it! If you're not a fan of hot curries, simply reduce the cayenne even more or leave it out altogether if you prefer. The flavor is excellent, as is most Indian food, after given time to combine. Thank you for a delicious yet tangy new vegetarian/vegan recipe for my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Great flavour! I am very picky about curries, but this one totally met my standards. Feel free to use whatever hardy vegetables you have (except for potato, that's a must). Also , pay attention to the 'spicy' part of the title - it's no lightweight! Keeps well in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potamun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
WOW, is all i have to say! I love curry of any kind, but very picky with which ones i eat. This was a perfect combination of spices, i did cut down on red pepper to half of what the recipe called for, and it was still a bit spicy for some of my guests, but that didnt stop them from finishing it. Loved it!! Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
As far as curry recipes go, this was a lot of spice and really no flavor. Added a bunch of other vegetables and additional coconut milk to try to bring out the spices. Recommend adding pureed or leaf spinach, crushed tomatoes instead of diced. Possibly try yogurt instead of the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
WARNING!!! We cut the pepper back to half, and this was so hot our family could hardly eat it. We ended up putting sour cream on it to get rid of some of the heat. I was crying, my daughter was blowing her nose, and my husband was saying Wow! pass the sour cream. We will make this again with WAY less pepper. We did add a little salt to ours while eating it. Guess we are a little wimpy when it comes to heat:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States