Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Katy
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made this recipe EXACTLY as stated, and it came out so much better than I imagined it would! I thought it would be cheap and cheerful, and useful as a side to something, but it is absolutely delicious! The combination of spices is completely spot on, giving a very rich and authentic flavour, with a good amount of spicyness, but not enough to hurt! Of course it tastes better the next day, as any curry does. The only things I would change in this recipe when I next make it (As I definitely shall), is that I will increase the amount of potatoes by at least 50%, to six or seven potatoes, and use only an 8oz can of chickpeas. The curry as it is, is more like a chickpea curry with potatoes, but I'd like potatoes to be the main feature. I think this curry would be very good too with spinach in it, instead of the peas, although its great as it is! ps. Im neither vegan nor vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I am almost embarrassed to tell everyone what I did to this recipe because of the lack of all of the ingredients... but I had to share because it turned out so well!! It all started with the potatoes I needed to use up... when I came across this yummy sounding recipe. I had no onions in the house, but I did have dried chopped onion, so I rehydrated them... I had no fresh garlic in the house, so I used the minced stuff in the jar (never as good as fresh, imho)... I had no fresh ginger, so I used ginger paste... I had no canned diced toms, but I did have tom paste... I had no coconut milk, but did have coconut milk powder to reconstitute... I was infinitely surprised to have a can of peas, since I really don't care for canned peas at all (where did THOSE come from??). In spite of all of my creative yet irreverent adjustments, this is one of the best curries I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was very flavorful and had a great texture. I omitted the chickpeas and added cauliflower, which I steamed over the boiling potatoes. I agree with other reviewers that this could have used more potatoes; it's pretty saucy. I wasn't in the mood for super spicy, so I used 1 tsp cayenne. I also reduced the curry to 1 tbsp, which was just right for us. Excellent over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is a great base for curry. I usually add a ton more veggies(frozen peas, beans, edaname, cauliflower, sugar snap peas, etc...) and I usually reduce the amount of garam masala spice to 2 tsp., but that's just my taste preference. But an overall great recipe- I make it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Great Recipe! I wrote a lengthy review detailing the outcome but this lack-luster website just erased it. The recipe is really good. Use large potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was pretty good. Similar to many of the curry recipes we already make. My husband liked this was because he thought it was saucier than some of our other recipes. My 6-year old liked the combo of peas and potatoes. I thought it was pretty good, but as ridiculous as this sounds, I thought the spice combination was a bit bland. The spice (hotness) was good for purctastes, but the others didn't really stand out. We will probably make this again, but not very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I love this curry! I've made it twice now. It's good right away, but the next day the flavors are excellent. I altered it by using light coconut milk and going a little light on the cayenne and salt. I think as a result of using the light coconut milk, it needed a couple of teaspoons of sugar. The second time I made it, I added a diced green pepper and threw in a diced carrot with the potatoes for the last half of cooking. Easy, delicious and full of veggies -- for a lot less than at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Definitely abundant spices! The ginger and coconut tastes were basically lost in the dish though. I omitted the tomatoes because I'm not a huge fan. Didn't care for the balance of potato vs garbanzos. I would use more potato and less garbanzos, and I think yellow sweet potato would have a great flavor with the spices instead of regular taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
The unusual combination of flavours works well. I reduced the garam masala to 1 teaspoon, because I found it overpowering and I used a heaped tablespoon of good quality curry paste. Frozen peas (added at the end) tastes better than tinned. I added some diced, cooked chicken for my husband and he rated it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Holy yum! I'm not sure about other people calling this bland. I would say to check your spices. If they sit too long (in your cupboard or on the shelf) they wont be flavorful. Especially the cayanne. If its fresh, 1 1/2 teaspoons is really hot! Fair warning. Also, I'm not big on potatoes, now those are bland, so I used sweet potatoes and they are delicious. I also mixed up the veggies according to what I had on hand and added tofu. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States