Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Yes! It was tasty. Thank you for a recipe I will use again and again. Adjustments (out of necessity): Used all the cayenne, 6-8 bird chilies, 2 serranos (with the seeds) - it was hot enough for me, although I doubt anyone who wasn't really used to "hot" would be able to eat it. I actually broke out in a forehead sweat, but that's the way I like it. LOL I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and had to use a mix of Thai red & green curry pastes (because I didn't have any Indian curry powder) but I will not be without it the next time. I didn't have any garbanzos or peas. So, used potatoes, Kabocha squash, carrots and brussel sprouts. I sauteed green pepper and 2 c fresh tomatoes and a few Keffir lime leaves with the onion and spices. I cut the coconut milk in half and used about a cup of the vegetable stock. The squash thickened it up sufficiently. Makes me think that any combination of vegetables would work as long as you have the textures. The combo of spices was perfect. BTW Kabocha squash is probably the best squash I've ever had in my life. I had it with basmati rice and a cold beer. It was so filling that I couldn't eat very much (but maybe that was partially because it was so fiery), but that's good, more for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuxthelux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and it was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. My husband loved it! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was ok. Really spicy and not as flavourful as I would have liked. I think next time I'll leave out the coconut milk - it made the mixture really "soupy". I'll try a bit of yogurt, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This was great but I added about 3/4 cups vegetable broth to make it a little more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Spicy!! But fantastic!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This was amazingly good! This just might become my new comfort food. I made the recipe *almost* as written: I'm not a fan of garbanzos, so I substituted roasted cauliflower. If you don't like really spicy things, then you might want to tone down the cayenne bit. (I like lots of spice, so the amount worked for me, but some people might not like as much.) I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is a staple for me; I usually add cumin seed, carrots, and fresh green beans. PRO TIP: add the curry powder and cumin seed when you're cooking the onion to open the flavors of these spices, then add the garlic with the remaining spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Loved it! Not too spicy, it was just perfect in heat. I used more potatoes as recommended and I was so pleased. I think cauliflower would go well in this dish and will maybe try that next time, but will definately turn this into a regular meal during the cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Berg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is an amazing recipe. Easy and absolutely delicious. I was out of cayenne pepper, but otherwise made it right from the recipe. Soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Just finished making this. The only change I made was to use frozen peas. It was fantastic!!! I've already shared it with a friend. Can't wait to eat my leftovers for lunch tomorrow...I'm sure it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzbethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States