Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We love this recipe! I added a few more potatoes and used light coconut milk. I will make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stacee07
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
DELICIOUS. Was it spicy? YES! Do I like spicy? YES! Can't wait to make again. Below are my changes- also note that after I made the sauce I put it in a crockpot. I then cooked my potatoes and carrots and added to crockpot and let sit on low for 4 hours. Then it went into fridge overnite. Next day, heated up in crockpot for 3 hours on low. YUMMMMMM! Changes made: 1 teaspoon cayenne, 1 teaspoon Adobo instead of the salt, carrots instead of garbanzos, lite coconut milk instead of regular. Cook potatoes less...a bit less than "tender" Omissions: no peas. Additions: 1 tablespoon sugar (heated with spices). 1 can tomato paste. 1 tablespoon lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. Lots of flavor and easy to prepare. Great spicy kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Yum! I *love* this recipe. I make it about once a week. I only use about 1/2 tsps of cayenne because 1 1/2 tsps was way too spicy for me. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WindyCityMom
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is my first time buying/using garam masala so I'm not 100% sure which of the spices I would tweak, but I would tweak something. I think maybe a little too much salt, and I'd maybe cut down the garam masala. I also noticed too late that others suggested bulking it up so at the last minute I added a bag of frozen spinach as well as a tablespoon of corn starch to help it thicken a bit. All in all, it does taste good, and I will certainly try it again with a few possible tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Really good and healthy! I used low fat coconut mild from trader joes and added cauliflower. Tasted even better the next day for lunch! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was a great recipe--easy enough for a newbie to Indian, but also tasty enough for someone like me looking to expand my stable of go-to Indian dishes. We substituted heavy cream for the coconut milk (I hate coconut) and it turned out great. I will cut back on the cayenne next time, to tone down the eat a little. The recipe as is is nice and spicy with good flavor, and it's not just hot for shot's sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I used 5 large potatoes as one commenter suggested, spinach and two cans of chick peas. I like chick peas. drained and rinsed. consistency was wonderful. I had a brand new cayenne pepper and oh my gosh, hot, hot, hot but so good. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was horrible,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Eudora, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was a good recipe, though intensive and took a long time to make for a weeknight (1.5hrs). I think the assembled mixture needs to simmer for more than 5-10 minutes, especially with the huge amount of spices it calls for. It takes longer for everything to meld together. Considering all the substitutions I made, I think it is a foolproof dish that's going to be good no matter what. I made the following substitutions/changes: I used jarred minced garlic instead of fresh, red onion instead of yellow, 1 tsp of cayenne instead of 1.5 tsp, 1 can of tomatoes, okra and corn plus 2 fresh tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes, 3 different beans instead of garbanzo, frozen English peas instead of canned and light coconut milk instead of regular. I did not have garam masala so I found a recipe for it online and combined nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger and cardamon as a substitute. I also added 4 Tbsp. of brown sugar to make it taste more like massaman curry. My husband LOVED it. It made 4 huge servings so we will have it again tomorrow night. Tip: don't forget to get some Naan bread to have on the side! You'll need it to cut all that spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States