Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Finally got the spicy my husband and I were looking for! And being a new vegan, this definitely hit the spot....and my husband is none the wiser that I pulled a vegan dish over on him!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trainwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
We just made this for dinner tonight. We left out the peas, and added some edamame, carrots and red bell pepper - this added some nice color and flavors. Next time I would substantially reduce the cayenne pepper - this certainly made it spicy and, for me at least, it drowned out the other good spices in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We love this recipe! I added a few more potatoes and used light coconut milk. I will make this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stacee07
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
DELICIOUS. Was it spicy? YES! Do I like spicy? YES! Can't wait to make again. Below are my changes- also note that after I made the sauce I put it in a crockpot. I then cooked my potatoes and carrots and added to crockpot and let sit on low for 4 hours. Then it went into fridge overnite. Next day, heated up in crockpot for 3 hours on low. YUMMMMMM! Changes made: 1 teaspoon cayenne, 1 teaspoon Adobo instead of the salt, carrots instead of garbanzos, lite coconut milk instead of regular. Cook potatoes less...a bit less than "tender" Omissions: no peas. Additions: 1 tablespoon sugar (heated with spices). 1 can tomato paste. 1 tablespoon lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. Lots of flavor and easy to prepare. Great spicy kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Yum! I *love* this recipe. I make it about once a week. I only use about 1/2 tsps of cayenne because 1 1/2 tsps was way too spicy for me. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WindyCityMom
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This is my first time buying/using garam masala so I'm not 100% sure which of the spices I would tweak, but I would tweak something. I think maybe a little too much salt, and I'd maybe cut down the garam masala. I also noticed too late that others suggested bulking it up so at the last minute I added a bag of frozen spinach as well as a tablespoon of corn starch to help it thicken a bit. All in all, it does taste good, and I will certainly try it again with a few possible tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Really good and healthy! I used low fat coconut mild from trader joes and added cauliflower. Tasted even better the next day for lunch! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was a great recipe--easy enough for a newbie to Indian, but also tasty enough for someone like me looking to expand my stable of go-to Indian dishes. We substituted heavy cream for the coconut milk (I hate coconut) and it turned out great. I will cut back on the cayenne next time, to tone down the eat a little. The recipe as is is nice and spicy with good flavor, and it's not just hot for shot's sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I used 5 large potatoes as one commenter suggested, spinach and two cans of chick peas. I like chick peas. drained and rinsed. consistency was wonderful. I had a brand new cayenne pepper and oh my gosh, hot, hot, hot but so good. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States