Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was horrible,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Eudora, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was a good recipe, though intensive and took a long time to make for a weeknight (1.5hrs). I think the assembled mixture needs to simmer for more than 5-10 minutes, especially with the huge amount of spices it calls for. It takes longer for everything to meld together. Considering all the substitutions I made, I think it is a foolproof dish that's going to be good no matter what. I made the following substitutions/changes: I used jarred minced garlic instead of fresh, red onion instead of yellow, 1 tsp of cayenne instead of 1.5 tsp, 1 can of tomatoes, okra and corn plus 2 fresh tomatoes instead of canned tomatoes, 3 different beans instead of garbanzo, frozen English peas instead of canned and light coconut milk instead of regular. I did not have garam masala so I found a recipe for it online and combined nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger and cardamon as a substitute. I also added 4 Tbsp. of brown sugar to make it taste more like massaman curry. My husband LOVED it. It made 4 huge servings so we will have it again tomorrow night. Tip: don't forget to get some Naan bread to have on the side! You'll need it to cut all that spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I couldn't find any Garam Masala so I increased the curry and cumin a little. A little on the spicy side, but that's my flavor, anyway! I would use this for entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilman, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madisonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
My hubs and I are vegan and love curry so wanted to give this a go since it got such great reviews. I made a few alterations: Used 3 potatoes (2 red and one russet) Used about 1/2 onion 1 clove of garlic 1/2 tsp of cayenne (and even that was super hot for us!) 2 tsp of curry paste (since this is what I had on hand) omitted the ginger omitted the peas Added cut up califlour, brocolli, red bell peppers. We served it over brown rice and it was really delish!!!! I will cut the cayenne down even a bit more next time (as it's really spicy with even just 1/2 tsp) and I will add maybe another 1/2 can of coconut milk. I think with the added veggies it soaked up too much of the milk and we like ours to have more of a soupy consistancy. I'll definitely put this into the menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I thought it seemed an excess of spice. I put in only 1/4 t cayenne, 2 t cumin, 2 t garam masala, and 2 t curry. I sauteed the spicy with the onions and garlic. I put in about 1/2 c of chicken broth to simmer with the chickpeas a bit while I waited for the potatoes finish cooking. I didn't have any tomatoes so I skipped that. Totally loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Fantastic! My wife and I both loved this healthy vegan dish. We cut the cayenne pepper by half because we were having a jalapeno based side dish but there's still a little hint of heat. Otherwise I wouldn't change a thing. Served over Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was wonderful. I didn't have the garbanzo beans or regular tomatoes so I used a can of corn and a can of fire roasted tomatoes with green chilies instead. I also only used 1/2 the onion. It was probably spicier than normal, but it was still awesome. I am fairly new to vegan cooking but I really liked this recipe and I know I have found a classic that I will make again and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
We loved it and did not miss the meat. I will be making this again as it's filling, spicy and makes a lot! The flavor seemed to turn out better than most curries I make myself (which usually have chicken). I did not have canned or frozen peas; so I used a bag of frozen cut spinach and it had a saag kind of feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was amazing... I used frozen peas instead of canned. They keep their shape and texture that way. Delicious. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was amazing! I did add more potatoes and lessened cayenne to only 1/2 a tsp and added a diced jalapeno - so it probably equals the same spice level. It was sooooo good and filling. But beware people, you must love spicy food to love this. Also, if you are not vegan, you can add some sour cream on top to cool off the heat. My entire family loved it! It was very filling and is definitely a main dish that does not need a side. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 101-110 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States