Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Loved this used olive oil, less coconut milk and used a sweet potato, left out the peas... Delightful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I just finished eating this and it was lovely! Rich and with great flavours. Next time I will cut down on the cayenne pepper though; I had already cut it down to one teaspoon and even that was too spicy for me. I added more potatoes, omitted the ginger (I didn't have any), and used frozen peas but otherwise made it exactly as stated. I will definitely be making this again. Next time I might try serving it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Køge, Sjælland, Denmark
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I thought this was a really good recipe! After reading some of the reviews which said that it was kind of "saucy" I added more potatoes. I was craving a curry dish and this very easy one hit the spot! It is definitely even better the next day. It can get spicy, so for those of you who don't like it spicy, you may want to back off on the cayenne. For my husband and I, we add lots of spice. Substituting serrano chili peppers for the cayenne as you saute the onions may work very well...you would still get the spice, but it kicks in earlier and doesn't linger, like cayenne does. I found it to be very filling and satisfying. My husband is a cowboy and wants meat at every meal, so I sauteed some chicken thighs on the side for him and he was happy. He also doesn't like garbanzo beans, but he said he didn't even notice them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this recipe without the ginger root (didn't have any) and my family loved it! They love Indian food and thought that this was better than one of our favorite Indian restaurants. I simmered mine a little longer, which made the coconut milk really thicken up! Amazing flavor and perfect recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Tons of spices but NO FLAVOR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
We liked this but it was way too hot for us, and I only put 1 tsp of cayenne. I will make it again however, and just cut down on the heat a bit. Fortunately i had some Tzatziki sauce in the fridge and mixed some of that in, which actuaaly cooled it and made it nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Yes! It was tasty. Thank you for a recipe I will use again and again. Adjustments (out of necessity): Used all the cayenne, 6-8 bird chilies, 2 serranos (with the seeds) - it was hot enough for me, although I doubt anyone who wasn't really used to "hot" would be able to eat it. I actually broke out in a forehead sweat, but that's the way I like it. LOL I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and had to use a mix of Thai red & green curry pastes (because I didn't have any Indian curry powder) but I will not be without it the next time. I didn't have any garbanzos or peas. So, used potatoes, Kabocha squash, carrots and brussel sprouts. I sauteed green pepper and 2 c fresh tomatoes and a few Keffir lime leaves with the onion and spices. I cut the coconut milk in half and used about a cup of the vegetable stock. The squash thickened it up sufficiently. Makes me think that any combination of vegetables would work as long as you have the textures. The combo of spices was perfect. BTW Kabocha squash is probably the best squash I've ever had in my life. I had it with basmati rice and a cold beer. It was so filling that I couldn't eat very much (but maybe that was partially because it was so fiery), but that's good, more for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuxthelux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this for dinner last night and it was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. My husband loved it! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was ok. Really spicy and not as flavourful as I would have liked. I think next time I'll leave out the coconut milk - it made the mixture really "soupy". I'll try a bit of yogurt, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This was great but I added about 3/4 cups vegetable broth to make it a little more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States