Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was wonderful. I didn't have the garbanzo beans or regular tomatoes so I used a can of corn and a can of fire roasted tomatoes with green chilies instead. I also only used 1/2 the onion. It was probably spicier than normal, but it was still awesome. I am fairly new to vegan cooking but I really liked this recipe and I know I have found a classic that I will make again and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
We loved it and did not miss the meat. I will be making this again as it's filling, spicy and makes a lot! The flavor seemed to turn out better than most curries I make myself (which usually have chicken). I did not have canned or frozen peas; so I used a bag of frozen cut spinach and it had a saag kind of feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was amazing... I used frozen peas instead of canned. They keep their shape and texture that way. Delicious. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This was amazing! I did add more potatoes and lessened cayenne to only 1/2 a tsp and added a diced jalapeno - so it probably equals the same spice level. It was sooooo good and filling. But beware people, you must love spicy food to love this. Also, if you are not vegan, you can add some sour cream on top to cool off the heat. My entire family loved it! It was very filling and is definitely a main dish that does not need a side. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Great recipe-yes! I'm vegan and oil free and nut free so I used a few different things. I used something called muchi curry so I had no need for cayenne. It was plenty hot with out it. I also used Braggs liquid amino's to sauté the onions and garlic. Works great if your avoiding oil. And since I don't do nuts, I used half soy milk and half potato water instead of coconut milk-not as sweet yet does a great job! Everyone here loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I tried this out for the first time yesterday, and it came out pretty good. I think I boiled my potatoes too long, because the texture of the curry was much like potato leek soup - not bad, but not what I was expecting. Anyway, that was my blunder! I used the ready-minced garlic in a jar, less onion and tomato (due to a boyfriend who doesn't like either), and completely omitted the cayenne pepper (I wasn't looking for a spicy dish, but wanted to try an easy Indian curry at home). The next time I try this, I'm going to use more potatoes as other people suggest (and not boil them as long!) and reduce the amount of coconut milk used. It was very saucy, but perhaps too much. But I agree with whoever said the spice combination was spot on - mmm mmmm! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Katieai
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I made this tonight pretty much exactly as the recipe states and it was delicious. My meat eating boyfriend agreed. He added sriracha hot sauce to his which was a great addition to the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
after reading the reviews carefully and noticing that a lot of people said that the curry needed depth, I added a tablespoon of mango chutney at the end and let it simmer for 20minutes instead of the few minutes called for in the recipe. it was absolutely outstanding...sweet, hot and tangy! I also added cauliflower and carrots simply because I needed to use them up. a very very good curry with the mango chutney added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was so easy to make and quick. Followed the recipe except only used 1 tsp of cayenne pepper because I was afraid it would be too spicy, and I'm glad i did. It ended up the perfect level of spicy. I also drizzled the potatoes in olive oil and baked them in the oven for 20 minutes instead of boiling in water (and I left on the skins). Other than that followed the recipe as is and served over rice. It was a tiny bit too salty so I think I'll reduce the salt to 1 tsp, but other than that it was delicious and will become a staple in my dinner rotations. I love curries and have always been intimidated by the recipes, so glad to have an easy one I can make in a jiffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This recipe fit right in with us as we are a vegetarian family. The only reason it doesn't warrant 5-stars for me is a personal preference of spiciness. Folks - this is extremely hot! I used 1/2 tsp of cayenne (my cayenne is quite hot) and although very flavorful and creamy, this ended up a bit too hot for my own taste but my fiance loved it! If you're not a fan of hot curries, simply reduce the cayenne even more or leave it out altogether if you prefer. The flavor is excellent, as is most Indian food, after given time to combine. Thank you for a delicious yet tangy new vegetarian/vegan recipe for my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States