Spicy Vegan Potato Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Amazing! Substituted a small can of tomato paste for the can of diced tomatoes. Added a chopped green pepper to the simmering mixture. Everyone was licking their plates clean. Served with basmati rice. Absolutely delicious. Tasted like the curry we get when eating out at Indian restaurants. I'm surprised other reviewers found it lacking in flavour. Maybe my spices were fresher, but, yowzer, it was flavourful and hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is my go-to curry recipe. A friend made it for me years ago and I LOVE it. So much flavour, and really quite flexible with a basic veg pantry. I prefer more vegetables, so I sub carrots and sweet potato in for some of the potatoes (some starch is necessary for thickening), and add others like zucchini, bell peppers, and cauliflower. I also often sub red lentils for chickpeas, when I don't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Van Alstine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Wow! It was amazing. I regularly prepare Indian recipes on the weekend because my family loves it and this one has already become the favorite. I used my pure-clay pot to make it and it turned out fantastic. It's easy to use and makes it very simple too. It's the healthiest cookware I've used so far. It cooks the food with far infrared heat emitted from the walls of the pot let spices penetrate deeper bringing out all the flavors in the food. I got mine from mecware.US (online).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Safe Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as stated. I enjoy spicy food, and I was ok with the heat level. Unfortunately the rest of my family couldn't eat this. It was just way too spicy. I think it would have been better cutting all the dry spices in half. Because even though I could stand the heat, it still just tased over seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Kirkpatrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Well that's not the way it's done in India . That's a shortcut but I have tried and it works though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Made all but inedible from the cayenne, and I go for native level spicyness. Aside from that, tasted like waaaayyyyyy to much Garam Masala. I could see it being pretty decent if those were adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
My husband and I made this for dinner and the aroma of this was fantastic. SO good! I doubled the potatoes, used half of the chickpeas but other than that - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sschwark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabrielle Preeya Young
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
My family and I loved it! I'm half Thai and a lover of curry, and this one hit the spot! I followed the recipe and added Thai Kitchen red curry paste. I also used 5 potatoes and served it with brown rice. Sriracha on top for extra spice is also yummy. The meal was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I used 1/2tsp of cayenne, and found it nicely spiced!! Excellent dish! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Very good, fast and easy used rotel tomatoes and wooooo it was spicy even without the Cayanne pepper and I looooove spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States