Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
These were good, but nothing to write home about. Not totally sold on the texture the mashed potato gives to the cake and didn't taste 'spicy' at all. If you make 8 patties with this recipe, they must be pretty small; we only got 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe which you can play with. The fundamentals are there : potato, breadcrumbs to soak up the water at the end, tuna or any fish, egg, onion, salt & pepper. play with the other ingredients. I fried these in the pan and they were perfect. 3-4 minutes on each side. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Wow, these are really good! I like the amount of spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I'm sorry but this was as bad as they come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I thought this was just "OK." The texture was good, but the flavor was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
The consistency of these fish cakes were good and for the most part did not break up in the pan as I turned or moved them. Perhaps the mashed potatoes helped with that. However, the flavor did not wow me like I anticipated. I had some doubts as I put dijon mustard in the mix b/c I have never added that to any fish dish before nor am I crazy about it to begin with. Maybe it was the dijon. I certainly added the other spices as directed. Sorry! I am going back to my original tuna cakes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Quick, easy, & delicious. I have not made tuna cakes before with mashed potato, but these turned out perfectly. I made the following changes: two small potatoes, 1/2 tsp. onion powder, 1-1/2 tsp. dry mustard, 2 Tbsp. bread crumbs, 1 Tbsp. minced garlic. I followed the recipe otherwise. I used a large cookie scoop to make 12 equal patties. I baked them at 350F for 25 minutes, turning them over after 15 minutes. I served with fresh lemon juice and lemon aioli. If you are having trouble with the patties falling apart, be sure to drain the tuna well and you can put the potatoes back on the stove after draining for a few seconds to evaporate all the excess moisture out. Thanks Raquel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was really easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda
Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dubois, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
amazing-totally surprised us all how delicious they were! Would love to get them not to fall apart quite so much, but if it tastes like this, no complaints here-YUM_O!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Excellent dish! The salman croquet version of tuna. I followed the recipe to the letter and was not disappointed! Had them two days later for lunch and even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Flavorful and scrumptious salmon cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States