Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Excellent. The flavors were great, and who would have known that one mashed potato would do so much magic. I did prep these a couple hours early, added some dill and took them out about 1/2 hour before cooking. The only negative point is 1 tablespoon of olive oil, is NOT going to cook these. I added a couple tablespoons of olive oil and some butter. Delicious. Next time I may add some crunch with some sweet peppers. Thank You for Sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Made this as was written, they were very good. Will make again. Thank you Raquel for another way to use Tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was a great change from the usual. I did sub 1/4 cup dried potato flakes for the whole potato and served with a great tartar sauce from this site along with some green beans from our garden. We really enjoyed these and will make again. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I did make some changes based on some of the reviews here and with those changes....DELICIOUS! To the 3 cans of tuna I used (my husband likes to eat haha) I took the dry instant potato flake idea from Lindseye117 which worked great; no added moisture. Used crushed cheese crackers in place of the breadcrumbs, two eggs, minced some fresh onion and celery (didn't want to waste my celery, it was getting old), dried parsley, used OLD BAY seasoning in place of the italian seasoning. Didn't use cayenne pepper because my daughter doesn't like spicy things. Next time I think more OLD BAY is called for, but otherwise these were great! They did not fall apart either. Served them with Tartar Sauce I from this site, cheesy rice, and mixed baby vegetables. This will DEFINITELY make an appearance for dinner again SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
These were good, but nothing to write home about. Not totally sold on the texture the mashed potato gives to the cake and didn't taste 'spicy' at all. If you make 8 patties with this recipe, they must be pretty small; we only got 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe which you can play with. The fundamentals are there : potato, breadcrumbs to soak up the water at the end, tuna or any fish, egg, onion, salt & pepper. play with the other ingredients. I fried these in the pan and they were perfect. 3-4 minutes on each side. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Wow, these are really good! I like the amount of spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I'm sorry but this was as bad as they come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I thought this was just "OK." The texture was good, but the flavor was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
The consistency of these fish cakes were good and for the most part did not break up in the pan as I turned or moved them. Perhaps the mashed potatoes helped with that. However, the flavor did not wow me like I anticipated. I had some doubts as I put dijon mustard in the mix b/c I have never added that to any fish dish before nor am I crazy about it to begin with. Maybe it was the dijon. I certainly added the other spices as directed. Sorry! I am going back to my original tuna cakes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States