Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
We had some fresh tuna baked seasoned with Mrs. Dash, not canned. We did not care for the mashed potatoes in the recipe. It gave it a mushy soft texture on the inside. I unintentionally failed to add the cayenne pepper. I am going to try recycle the leftovers, add an egg, crushed crackers, jalapenos, & grated cheese & re-fry in the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this as an appetizer for a party and put it on a platter and the adults loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I added some celery and shredded carrots for extra veggies. I also omitted the egg and breadcrumbs and upped my potato just a bit! My teenager loved them! This goes into our "keeper" recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I liked them, they just seemed to me to be missing something. My wife liked them better than me and she is not a tuna fan so maybe I don't know what I am talking about. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Thumbs up from my husband and our 17 yr old son liked it so-so (but he ate 3 1/2 of them). I had no fresh potatoes so I used a can of the peeled, white potatoes and it seemed to work out great and cut down on the prep time. As a dipping type sauce I made some sour cream mixed with the italian seasonings and parsley flakes. Thanks for submitting your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Very good. I make a similar tuna fritter using Bisquik and evaporated milk instead of the potato. This is an interesting and delicious variation. I always serve mine with a cheese sauce -- béchamel with grated cheddar if I'm feeling ambitious, a can or two of Campbell's Cheddar cheese soup if I'm not. The addition of a bit of cayenne is brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and they turned out so good and were very easy to make. I am very tired and wanted something quick and easy and this recipe caught my eye. I accidentally used Mayo and accidentally forgot the egg (I am tired ,remember? LoL) ...added a dash of hot sauce because I LOVE spiciness. Being from Maryland of course I had to add Old Bay and I feel like that pulled it together perfectly and really just made it taste like a crabcake which is awesome since my husband is not a fan of Tuna. I will be making these again. We both have satisfied bellies and tastebuds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARYND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This would be way better without the potato. My husband and I both agree. It takes away from the tuna flavor. I wanted a tuna cake not a potato cake. Will try again without the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My wife made these as a quick dish, just used fresh garlic in the wet mixture...fried up and served on bed of fresh spinach, and squeezed fresh lemon on top! very delish..would recommend, only took 30 minutes from preparing to eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Easy to prepare but when you go to fry them they break apart! I followed the recipe to the tee and did not come out. Thanks but no thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States