Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I'm sorry but this was as bad as they come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I thought this was just "OK." The texture was good, but the flavor was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
The consistency of these fish cakes were good and for the most part did not break up in the pan as I turned or moved them. Perhaps the mashed potatoes helped with that. However, the flavor did not wow me like I anticipated. I had some doubts as I put dijon mustard in the mix b/c I have never added that to any fish dish before nor am I crazy about it to begin with. Maybe it was the dijon. I certainly added the other spices as directed. Sorry! I am going back to my original tuna cakes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Quick, easy, & delicious. I have not made tuna cakes before with mashed potato, but these turned out perfectly. I made the following changes: two small potatoes, 1/2 tsp. onion powder, 1-1/2 tsp. dry mustard, 2 Tbsp. bread crumbs, 1 Tbsp. minced garlic. I followed the recipe otherwise. I used a large cookie scoop to make 12 equal patties. I baked them at 350F for 25 minutes, turning them over after 15 minutes. I served with fresh lemon juice and lemon aioli. If you are having trouble with the patties falling apart, be sure to drain the tuna well and you can put the potatoes back on the stove after draining for a few seconds to evaporate all the excess moisture out. Thanks Raquel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was really easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
amazing-totally surprised us all how delicious they were! Would love to get them not to fall apart quite so much, but if it tastes like this, no complaints here-YUM_O!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Excellent dish! The salman croquet version of tuna. I followed the recipe to the letter and was not disappointed! Had them two days later for lunch and even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
These were very good, except there was a little too much Italian seasoning for my taste -- seemed to overwhelm the flavor of the tuna. I made six patties, not eight -- I think making eight would have resulted in way-too-small patties (however, I know they are not meant to be quarter-pound burger size). I also added a few squeezes of fresh calamansi (no lemons on hand). FYI - I experimented with freezing two of the patties with not-so-great results.... when they thawed, they were very soft and hard to handle without breaking apart (probably due to the mashed potato?). Definitely making these again, but I will reduce the Italian seasoning to 1/2 teaspoon for personal preference. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
turned out great! did omit the italian seasonings and used what I had instead: diced green chilies and fresh cilantro and dried dill. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
What a good idea. I honestly liked the flavor and the texture of these cakes more than salmon or crab meat. My family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States