Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
These are great if you have leftover mashed potatoes or sweet potato....I do a bit of a extra tweak each time and throw in extras like corn and herbs like chives...red onion chopped fine is great also. They're good baked in the oven with a drizzle of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great! - this gets 5 stars for the ease and method. I do see there are a few people who just don't care for the tuna potato mix... this is still a great balanced recipe - I think for those who just can't like the tuna potato mix, try replacing with croutons...crushed, but not into powder! you can also try cooked cold egg noodles (I like egg noodles) if you think about the way you would like these to taste, then try it!! I noticed some people had a problem frying too.. falling apart. This is common for nearly every single fish/seafoud type cake on the planet. I generally form my patties, make sure they're thoroughly chilled and carefully fry, or I give them a really good spray with olive oil spray (can brush it on too) and pop them under the broiler (lower rack) This is a good idea, and easy and the really good part... cost effective! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I usually try to stick to recipe, but didn't have a potato, so I used instant mashed potatoes like someone else did. I used 1/4 of a cup. I didn't have an onion either, so I used 1 tablespoon mince onion. Everything else I followed with recipe, and we loved these. I made them a second time still had to use instant mashed potatoes because I didn't have potato. I did use fresh onion, but we liked the minced better. Tonight!! I am using a fresh potato:) So happy I finally have one to try. We just love this recipe, so I know the fresh real potato will make it even better. Enjoy! And try the minced onion because it is a time saver, and we like it better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I love the concept, and was sort of faithful to the recipe, except that I halved alomost everything except the egg, (1 can tuna) used a green onion, added a teaspoon of diced chiles, and subbed mashed Triscuit crackers since I had no bread crumbs or saltines. Subbed frozen hashbrowns par-cooked for the boiled/mashed, and should have used a bit more than I did. Added parmesan and a couple tblspns of finely grated cheddar. Very tasty, browned up nicely, and I will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
subbed prepared instant potatoes for time, subbed red pepper flakes since i didnt have cayenne pepper, used refrigerated garlic instead of powder, and dried diced onion instead of fresh. and butter to fry in instead of oil, all because i need to go shopping. the hubby liked them, ate with tartar sauce on top, i made a sandwich and out ketchup, since they reminded me of tater tots. the 2 yr old stuck them to the underside of the table. i'll make these again, they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
These were good, but I couldn't help changing a few things. I substituted crackers for bread crumbs, dill weed for Italian seasoning, and hot sauce for cayenne pepper. I also doubled the recipe and added one more can of tuna. It just didn't look fishy enough to me. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Watson, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Olivia O
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
It was really good and I'll definitely be making it again. It was a little mushy and that may have been because I added mayonnaise. So I added about 2 tablespoons of flour and it was sturdier to fry. I'll probably add less mayonnaise next time. This recipe makes for a great lunch with Caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
We loved these. Didn't served with any sauce, just a squeeze of lemon. Followed recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Raquel. This is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I'm always looking for easy and nutritious lunch ideas that will feed me and my one-year old and this was perfect. Made it essentially as written and they turned out really good and held together fine throughout the entire process. I did drain the tuna really well and let the potato "steam dry" like the recipe says. Don't omit the potato because you'll miss out on what I think makes this recipe special. Without the potato you're just making regular old fish cakes. The potato mellows out the fish taste while leaving the cakes meaty, moist, and quite filling. I had mine on a bed of lettuce with homemade tartar sauce, and my one-year old had an entire cake himself. Next time I'll be a little less shy with the seasonings. Great recipe! Edit: Made these a second time and again they were excellent. This time used a heaping Tbsp of Dijon, a tsp of dry Adobo seasoning instead of the garlic powder and Italian seasoning, and added some dried dill and just a tiny sprinkling of the cayenne - tasted perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is easily one of the best lunch dishes I've every made. I like most my food a bit spicier than most people I know, so I added a bit of crushed red pepper and upped the cayenne just a bit. I also minced half a jalapeno pepper and threw it into the mix. I then formed the patties slightly larger and flatter to be more appropriate for a sandwich. Once the cooking was done I toasted some Italian bread, added the patty, spread some mayo mixed with a bit of sriracha sauce on top, and then added a bit of iceberg lettuce to finish it off. I am usually very critical of my creations, but I can say with great confidence that this sandwich is easily restaurant quality and one of the tastiest things I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Flavorful and scrumptious salmon cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States