Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Fabulous! I didn't have any potatoes on hand, so I just omitted it and increased the bread crumbs; I also used panko crumbs and added an extra egg. It was fantastic, my husband loved it also. Will be making again, thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by syreeta j.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
It was very good. I did use minced garlic, the garlic powder I have in the pantry is too old, I have to replace it. The minced garlic added to the flavor I think. Quick, delicious, and different, great recipe. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
wonderful i tried it and came up tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
These are great if you have leftover mashed potatoes or sweet potato....I do a bit of a extra tweak each time and throw in extras like corn and herbs like chives...red onion chopped fine is great also. They're good baked in the oven with a drizzle of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great! - this gets 5 stars for the ease and method. I do see there are a few people who just don't care for the tuna potato mix... this is still a great balanced recipe - I think for those who just can't like the tuna potato mix, try replacing with croutons...crushed, but not into powder! you can also try cooked cold egg noodles (I like egg noodles) if you think about the way you would like these to taste, then try it!! I noticed some people had a problem frying too.. falling apart. This is common for nearly every single fish/seafoud type cake on the planet. I generally form my patties, make sure they're thoroughly chilled and carefully fry, or I give them a really good spray with olive oil spray (can brush it on too) and pop them under the broiler (lower rack) This is a good idea, and easy and the really good part... cost effective! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I usually try to stick to recipe, but didn't have a potato, so I used instant mashed potatoes like someone else did. I used 1/4 of a cup. I didn't have an onion either, so I used 1 tablespoon mince onion. Everything else I followed with recipe, and we loved these. I made them a second time still had to use instant mashed potatoes because I didn't have potato. I did use fresh onion, but we liked the minced better. Tonight!! I am using a fresh potato:) So happy I finally have one to try. We just love this recipe, so I know the fresh real potato will make it even better. Enjoy! And try the minced onion because it is a time saver, and we like it better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I love the concept, and was sort of faithful to the recipe, except that I halved alomost everything except the egg, (1 can tuna) used a green onion, added a teaspoon of diced chiles, and subbed mashed Triscuit crackers since I had no bread crumbs or saltines. Subbed frozen hashbrowns par-cooked for the boiled/mashed, and should have used a bit more than I did. Added parmesan and a couple tblspns of finely grated cheddar. Very tasty, browned up nicely, and I will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
subbed prepared instant potatoes for time, subbed red pepper flakes since i didnt have cayenne pepper, used refrigerated garlic instead of powder, and dried diced onion instead of fresh. and butter to fry in instead of oil, all because i need to go shopping. the hubby liked them, ate with tartar sauce on top, i made a sandwich and out ketchup, since they reminded me of tater tots. the 2 yr old stuck them to the underside of the table. i'll make these again, they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
These were good, but I couldn't help changing a few things. I substituted crackers for bread crumbs, dill weed for Italian seasoning, and hot sauce for cayenne pepper. I also doubled the recipe and added one more can of tuna. It just didn't look fishy enough to me. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Watson, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Olivia O
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
It was really good and I'll definitely be making it again. It was a little mushy and that may have been because I added mayonnaise. So I added about 2 tablespoons of flour and it was sturdier to fry. I'll probably add less mayonnaise next time. This recipe makes for a great lunch with Caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States