Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very good! The whole family liked it. I do wish it had a little more tuna flavor, but I loved the texture of the potato with the fish. I imagine you could substitute cooked, chopped chicken or other meats for the fish. I did make a few changes. I used minced garlic instead of powder and sweet and spicy garlic festival mustard instead of dijon. I also omitted the cayenne because my 2 year old is sensitive to spicy foods. For the adults, I served it with a miracle whip, mustard, and hot sauce dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I tried it both without and with the potato, and I have to say, the potato really makes this recipe. The patties hold together a lot better than with flour and egg alone. I also used a quick sauce made from equal parts spaghetti sauce and real mayo + 1tsp of fresh squeezed lemon juice. Perfect! If you microwave the potato, the whole meal can come together in under 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
delicious! Boyfriend loved these, and not too spicy at all! Served with dipping sauce- 2 parts mayo, 2 parts sour cream, 1 part plain yogurt, some onion powder and a pinch of cayanne pepper. Needed the sauce as it was a bit on the dry side. for next time I will try and make these thinner so they will turn out more with a crunch on the outside. Overall- very good, and you should give a try! Only took me 30 minutes start to finish too, made 7 medium patties the size of my palm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Made these tonight exactly as directed and threw most of them out in the trash. Horrible! Tasted like mashed potato with a bit of tuna thrown in. Sorry but we were not impressed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I would have given this recipe a 5, but I didn't use a potato. I followed the recipe closely with the exception of reducing the amount of cayenne pepper and increasing the amount of breadcrumbs. I did not add onions, but it didn't seem to matter much. Great easy, fast recipe that involves most ingredients you have. I used an ice cream scooper to make scoopfuls of patties, then flattened them while they were in the skillet. This prevented them from breaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Simple meal prepared in a short amount of time. No special ingredients required. Was pretty tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This is a keeper; didn't use the potato, added sweet chili sauce instead of the cayenne pepper and added two eggs. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
We didn't care for these, I think it was the combination of the potato and breadcrumbs, just not a good texture for us. Sorry Raquel :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
These were great, we'd been experimenting with tuna cakes for a while and these are definitely our favorite, Served them with a green chile sauce... Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States