Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Made this as was written, they were very good. Will make again. Thank you Raquel for another way to use Tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was a great change from the usual. I did sub 1/4 cup dried potato flakes for the whole potato and served with a great tartar sauce from this site along with some green beans from our garden. We really enjoyed these and will make again. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I did make some changes based on some of the reviews here and with those changes....DELICIOUS! To the 3 cans of tuna I used (my husband likes to eat haha) I took the dry instant potato flake idea from Lindseye117 which worked great; no added moisture. Used crushed cheese crackers in place of the breadcrumbs, two eggs, minced some fresh onion and celery (didn't want to waste my celery, it was getting old), dried parsley, used OLD BAY seasoning in place of the italian seasoning. Didn't use cayenne pepper because my daughter doesn't like spicy things. Next time I think more OLD BAY is called for, but otherwise these were great! They did not fall apart either. Served them with Tartar Sauce I from this site, cheesy rice, and mixed baby vegetables. This will DEFINITELY make an appearance for dinner again SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
These were good, but nothing to write home about. Not totally sold on the texture the mashed potato gives to the cake and didn't taste 'spicy' at all. If you make 8 patties with this recipe, they must be pretty small; we only got 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is a great recipe which you can play with. The fundamentals are there : potato, breadcrumbs to soak up the water at the end, tuna or any fish, egg, onion, salt & pepper. play with the other ingredients. I fried these in the pan and they were perfect. 3-4 minutes on each side. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Wow, these are really good! I like the amount of spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I'm sorry but this was as bad as they come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I thought this was just "OK." The texture was good, but the flavor was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
The consistency of these fish cakes were good and for the most part did not break up in the pan as I turned or moved them. Perhaps the mashed potatoes helped with that. However, the flavor did not wow me like I anticipated. I had some doubts as I put dijon mustard in the mix b/c I have never added that to any fish dish before nor am I crazy about it to begin with. Maybe it was the dijon. I certainly added the other spices as directed. Sorry! I am going back to my original tuna cakes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Quick, easy, & delicious. I have not made tuna cakes before with mashed potato, but these turned out perfectly. I made the following changes: two small potatoes, 1/2 tsp. onion powder, 1-1/2 tsp. dry mustard, 2 Tbsp. bread crumbs, 1 Tbsp. minced garlic. I followed the recipe otherwise. I used a large cookie scoop to make 12 equal patties. I baked them at 350F for 25 minutes, turning them over after 15 minutes. I served with fresh lemon juice and lemon aioli. If you are having trouble with the patties falling apart, be sure to drain the tuna well and you can put the potatoes back on the stove after draining for a few seconds to evaporate all the excess moisture out. Thanks Raquel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States