Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
subbed prepared instant potatoes for time, subbed red pepper flakes since i didnt have cayenne pepper, used refrigerated garlic instead of powder, and dried diced onion instead of fresh. and butter to fry in instead of oil, all because i need to go shopping. the hubby liked them, ate with tartar sauce on top, i made a sandwich and out ketchup, since they reminded me of tater tots. the 2 yr old stuck them to the underside of the table. i'll make these again, they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
These were good, but I couldn't help changing a few things. I substituted crackers for bread crumbs, dill weed for Italian seasoning, and hot sauce for cayenne pepper. I also doubled the recipe and added one more can of tuna. It just didn't look fishy enough to me. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Watson, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Olivia O
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
It was really good and I'll definitely be making it again. It was a little mushy and that may have been because I added mayonnaise. So I added about 2 tablespoons of flour and it was sturdier to fry. I'll probably add less mayonnaise next time. This recipe makes for a great lunch with Caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
We loved these. Didn't served with any sauce, just a squeeze of lemon. Followed recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Raquel. This is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I'm always looking for easy and nutritious lunch ideas that will feed me and my one-year old and this was perfect. Made it essentially as written and they turned out really good and held together fine throughout the entire process. I did drain the tuna really well and let the potato "steam dry" like the recipe says. Don't omit the potato because you'll miss out on what I think makes this recipe special. Without the potato you're just making regular old fish cakes. The potato mellows out the fish taste while leaving the cakes meaty, moist, and quite filling. I had mine on a bed of lettuce with homemade tartar sauce, and my one-year old had an entire cake himself. Next time I'll be a little less shy with the seasonings. Great recipe! Edit: Made these a second time and again they were excellent. This time used a heaping Tbsp of Dijon, a tsp of dry Adobo seasoning instead of the garlic powder and Italian seasoning, and added some dried dill and just a tiny sprinkling of the cayenne - tasted perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is easily one of the best lunch dishes I've every made. I like most my food a bit spicier than most people I know, so I added a bit of crushed red pepper and upped the cayenne just a bit. I also minced half a jalapeno pepper and threw it into the mix. I then formed the patties slightly larger and flatter to be more appropriate for a sandwich. Once the cooking was done I toasted some Italian bread, added the patty, spread some mayo mixed with a bit of sriracha sauce on top, and then added a bit of iceberg lettuce to finish it off. I am usually very critical of my creations, but I can say with great confidence that this sandwich is easily restaurant quality and one of the tastiest things I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great quick tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Tried the recipe this evening. It was okay and I probably won't make again. I microwaved a large potato to save time and that worked out fine. I think the flavor of the tuna got lost in the potato and other ingredients. Next time I will use samon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Has potential. This is a very general recipe. "A potato, some tuna, some bread crumbs" aka results will very. At first I omitted the cayenne pepper but otherwise followed the recipe. I tasted it and thought it was bland and then tweaked it with more Dijon, garlic, green onions, etc I liked it before but others may have trouble. Using an ice cream scoop then pressing it down with the spatula once in the pan as someone else mentioned was helpful. Also, making sure you have adequate oil in the pan makes a big difference to give it that texture and crunch because otherwise its even more bland tasting. I added sweet chili sauce for dipping which really made it go from 3 stars to 4 in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
'Not really spicy, but subtly evident. 'Glad I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Making Spicy Tuna Rolls

Learn how to make spicy tuna sushi rolls at home.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States