Spicy Tomato and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Awesome! I actually made two batches, one with the pepper and one without (for the kids). Both turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This soup was delicious! I added garlic and extra chipotle peppers. I also had to add a bit extra water. The soup was great served with tortilla chips (almost like a dip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Seneca, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is a great quick and tasty recipe. Lentils work really well, because they cook so quickly relative to other legumes. I cooked this recipe as listed with a couple of substitutions. I substituted 3 shallots for the onion, and about 1 3/4 cups of vegetable stock for the water. I'm also a big fan of using the stick blender to puree soups. It gives it that "restaurant" quality. If you like your soup a little chunkier, you can divide into half, puree one half and mix into the rest of the soup. This is a definite keeper for our vegetarian household. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Went to Egypt to see my friend who loved lentil soup, we cooked this together adding 2 stock cubes and a bit more water, it was really lovely and I am going to cook it today for my work mates as it is such a cold windy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe but needs a lot more water / liquid adding than stated in the recipe. Very very easy to make soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I have been trying lentil recipes laterly, and this is one of the easiest soups I have made - will definitely be making it again. I did substitute spanish oregano for the basil. Next time, I will try chopped chipotle pepper (smoked jalapeno in adobo sauce) instead of the chile pepper for a deeper, more smokey flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Loved this recipe! I'm living in Tanzania at the moment and it's hard to find ingredients, but did manage to find everything for this recipe following some of the substitutions that others suggested - Red chili flakes, fresh tomatoes and a bit of extra water. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This is excellent, and what I had as a child, only diffrence I made was instead of pod chile I add chili pequin crushed the last second of sauting onions and last ingredient is mini mac shells. Later helps to add bulk, GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was delicious. I also added: chopped carrots, potatoes, garlic, and garbanzo beans (and increased the amount of water that I used). It was as a result very thick...more like a stew than a soup. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Wondeful soup! I used two peppers instead of one, and replaced the can of stew tomatoes with four fresh large tomatoes. Great kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States