Spicy Tomato and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Loved this recipe! I'm living in Tanzania at the moment and it's hard to find ingredients, but did manage to find everything for this recipe following some of the substitutions that others suggested - Red chili flakes, fresh tomatoes and a bit of extra water. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Excellent recipe but needs a lot more water / liquid adding than stated in the recipe. Very very easy to make soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is a great quick and tasty recipe. Lentils work really well, because they cook so quickly relative to other legumes. I cooked this recipe as listed with a couple of substitutions. I substituted 3 shallots for the onion, and about 1 3/4 cups of vegetable stock for the water. I'm also a big fan of using the stick blender to puree soups. It gives it that "restaurant" quality. If you like your soup a little chunkier, you can divide into half, puree one half and mix into the rest of the soup. This is a definite keeper for our vegetarian household. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I didn't have the peppers so I used about 1/2t of red pepper flakes & it was rather nippy. My husband & I really enjoyed it, but it was a bit too hot for the kids. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream, as that is what I had on hand. I also added a bit more water than the recipe called for as I found it somewhat thicker than I would have liked it. I might add a second can of tomatoes and use broth instead of water next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Awesome! I actually made two batches, one with the pepper and one without (for the kids). Both turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm23

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This soup was delicious! I added garlic and extra chipotle peppers. I also had to add a bit extra water. The soup was great served with tortilla chips (almost like a dip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Seneca, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Good, but very, very thick, and can get bland quickly if you try to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Turned into tomato paste. I ended up throwing the entire batch out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was delicious. I also added: chopped carrots, potatoes, garlic, and garbanzo beans (and increased the amount of water that I used). It was as a result very thick...more like a stew than a soup. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I added garlic, a chicken bullion cube and only had brown lentils to use. As with it seems every lentil recipe, I had to increase the amount of water. A very good soup, and quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States