Spicy Tomato and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This recipe gets 5 stars based on the following modifications I made: 1/2 onion is plenty, 1 28 oz can tomatoes, 2 cups water (without the additional water and tomatoes it is way too thick), 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (or more if you like heat) 1 1/2 tsp cumin. The suggestion of sour cream as a topping is a good one. I blend this with a hand blender, but didn't blend it smooth - I think it's better with a bit of body left to the lentils. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissesMeowmix

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I found this recipe to be a wonderful idea. I doubled it and it was lovely. I changed a couple of things to suit our taste: I used a jalepeno instead of a chile, chicken broth instead of water, about 2 teaspoons of cumin, 5 cloves garlic, lots of lime juice, salt and seasoning. I also added oregano since I did not have basil. Served with sour cream and cheese. This was a very simple soup, everyone liked it a lot, and I am delighted to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This lentil soup is very tasty with just the right amount of heat. Instead of 1 cup of water I used 4 cups of vegetable broth, and followed the rest of the recipe. The soup get high raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venetian_lunacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Went to Egypt to see my friend who loved lentil soup, we cooked this together adding 2 stock cubes and a bit more water, it was really lovely and I am going to cook it today for my work mates as it is such a cold windy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I was good. I added low sodium beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CooksW/Love
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
very good and easy. First time making lentils, and i now like lentils :) This needed a little more seasoning for my taste, so I added 3 cloves garlic and used a whole, seeded jalapeno, 1 full tsp cumin, dashes of celery salt, 1 can fat free chicken broth instead of water and a pinch of mexican oregano. More fresh basil would be excellent in this. I have a tomato garden in bloom so I used 4 medium fresh tomatoes, instead of canned. This is a hearty soup, and excellent with the recommended sour cream and basil garnishes. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
In terms of flavor and ease, this soup is a 5. However, I'm giving it 4 stars because the amounts were way off for me. I added 4 cups of water, and still got a really, really thick soup! After adding so much water to get the right consistency, it wasn't tomato-y enough, so I added another can of fire-roasted tomatoes. I also added a teaspoon minced garlic, and used 1/2 teaspoon cayenne. I will definitely make this again with these revisions! Delicious with sour cream on top on buttered toasted rolls. mmmm... I'm glad I increased the water, because it made 8 cups of soup, which meant bigger portions and no extra calories. Very, very filling and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Maybe I just don't like lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lachine, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I should have used a hotter pepper or added more spice as well as liquid and cook a little longer to soften the lentils a bit more. I normally have everything for this recipe on hand so it could become a regular last minute meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States