Spicy Tomato and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I think this recipe would have been lovely just as written... but as any good home cook does, I tailored it to fit my family's taste. I kept the basic recipe almost the same (doubled) and then added 2 carrots (that I sauteed with the onions), 2 large handfuls of fresh kale (that I also sauteed before adding the liquid), cumin seeds instead of ground cumin (that I roasted in the bottom of the pan that I sauteed in), and some mexican oregano. I also did not have red lentils, so I used the brown lentils we had on hand. I added enough water to keep it a soup but not give it a watered down taste. And I salt and peppered to taste. It was a hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes for lentil soup. Whenever I make it, I use two cups of water and simmer the soup for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Great recipe. Added some garlic as well. Easy to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Easy to make but I found it quite bland. I tried adding veg stock cubes and more cumin but still pretty average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Fast and Easy basic recipe for Tomato Lentil Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I have made this recipe several times and NEVER had a problem with it getting thick--until today. Two things occurred which are different from usual and I don't know which one was the culprit but I suspect it was a combination of the two. First, I forgot to rinse the lentils and second I didn't cook them until they were mush. They were done when I blended them but they weren't mushy. Next time I will pay better attention. It has taken a lot of extra spices, beef broth, red wine, and some cream to fix my mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is my first lentil soup and I did use other reviews to do as follows - used 4 cups no salt added chicken broth, 2 cloves garlic, 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 cup shredded carrot and 1 cup cooked spinach. I also used a can of diced tomatoes with chiles and lime juice. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea98

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very tasty! I did a lot of substituting with what was on hand--a can of Rotel tomatoes instead of plain tomatoes and a chile pepper--and I used oregano instead of basil and added a 1/2 teaspoon of chipotle powder, which included salt and pepper. Only problem was that pot was too big and soup was too shallow for the immersion blender. Next time I will double the recipe, and/or add more water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Excellent recipe! Wouldn't change a thing. The measurements were spot on. I grew up having traditional lentil soup but was in the mood for Tomato soup and found this recipe. Glad I did! My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
It was very good BUT even though I added another cup of water it was NOT soup. What did I do wrong? However I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States