Spicy Tomato and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I added garlic, a chicken bullion cube and only had brown lentils to use. As with it seems every lentil recipe, I had to increase the amount of water. A very good soup, and quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Wondeful soup! I used two peppers instead of one, and replaced the can of stew tomatoes with four fresh large tomatoes. Great kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I have been trying lentil recipes laterly, and this is one of the easiest soups I have made - will definitely be making it again. I did substitute spanish oregano for the basil. Next time, I will try chopped chipotle pepper (smoked jalapeno in adobo sauce) instead of the chile pepper for a deeper, more smokey flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was delicious. I also added: chopped carrots, potatoes, garlic, and garbanzo beans (and increased the amount of water that I used). It was as a result very thick...more like a stew than a soup. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
very easy, and came out GREAT! I substituted curry powder for cumin (did not have it) and added paprika and cayenne pepper. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This soup is SO easy to make & reheats wonderfully! Since I'm a spice fiend, I doubled the cumin, used two coarsely chopped serrano peppers and a bit of hot curry powder. I think I'm going to add shredded turkey or chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CooksW/Love
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
very good and easy. First time making lentils, and i now like lentils :) This needed a little more seasoning for my taste, so I added 3 cloves garlic and used a whole, seeded jalapeno, 1 full tsp cumin, dashes of celery salt, 1 can fat free chicken broth instead of water and a pinch of mexican oregano. More fresh basil would be excellent in this. I have a tomato garden in bloom so I used 4 medium fresh tomatoes, instead of canned. This is a hearty soup, and excellent with the recommended sour cream and basil garnishes. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I didn't have the peppers so I used about 1/2t of red pepper flakes & it was rather nippy. My husband & I really enjoyed it, but it was a bit too hot for the kids. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream, as that is what I had on hand. I also added a bit more water than the recipe called for as I found it somewhat thicker than I would have liked it. I might add a second can of tomatoes and use broth instead of water next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This recipe gets 5 stars based on the following modifications I made: 1/2 onion is plenty, 1 28 oz can tomatoes, 2 cups water (without the additional water and tomatoes it is way too thick), 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (or more if you like heat) 1 1/2 tsp cumin. The suggestion of sour cream as a topping is a good one. I blend this with a hand blender, but didn't blend it smooth - I think it's better with a bit of body left to the lentils. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissesMeowmix

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is a great quick and tasty recipe. Lentils work really well, because they cook so quickly relative to other legumes. I cooked this recipe as listed with a couple of substitutions. I substituted 3 shallots for the onion, and about 1 3/4 cups of vegetable stock for the water. I'm also a big fan of using the stick blender to puree soups. It gives it that "restaurant" quality. If you like your soup a little chunkier, you can divide into half, puree one half and mix into the rest of the soup. This is a definite keeper for our vegetarian household. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States