Spicy Tomato and Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I added garlic, a chicken bullion cube and only had brown lentils to use. As with it seems every lentil recipe, I had to increase the amount of water. A very good soup, and quick to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Wondeful soup! I used two peppers instead of one, and replaced the can of stew tomatoes with four fresh large tomatoes. Great kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I have been trying lentil recipes laterly, and this is one of the easiest soups I have made - will definitely be making it again. I did substitute spanish oregano for the basil. Next time, I will try chopped chipotle pepper (smoked jalapeno in adobo sauce) instead of the chile pepper for a deeper, more smokey flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was delicious. I also added: chopped carrots, potatoes, garlic, and garbanzo beans (and increased the amount of water that I used). It was as a result very thick...more like a stew than a soup. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
very easy, and came out GREAT! I substituted curry powder for cumin (did not have it) and added paprika and cayenne pepper. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This soup is SO easy to make & reheats wonderfully! Since I'm a spice fiend, I doubled the cumin, used two coarsely chopped serrano peppers and a bit of hot curry powder. I think I'm going to add shredded turkey or chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CooksW/Love
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
very good and easy. First time making lentils, and i now like lentils :) This needed a little more seasoning for my taste, so I added 3 cloves garlic and used a whole, seeded jalapeno, 1 full tsp cumin, dashes of celery salt, 1 can fat free chicken broth instead of water and a pinch of mexican oregano. More fresh basil would be excellent in this. I have a tomato garden in bloom so I used 4 medium fresh tomatoes, instead of canned. This is a hearty soup, and excellent with the recommended sour cream and basil garnishes. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I didn't have the peppers so I used about 1/2t of red pepper flakes & it was rather nippy. My husband & I really enjoyed it, but it was a bit too hot for the kids. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream, as that is what I had on hand. I also added a bit more water than the recipe called for as I found it somewhat thicker than I would have liked it. I might add a second can of tomatoes and use broth instead of water next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This recipe gets 5 stars based on the following modifications I made: 1/2 onion is plenty, 1 28 oz can tomatoes, 2 cups water (without the additional water and tomatoes it is way too thick), 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (or more if you like heat) 1 1/2 tsp cumin. The suggestion of sour cream as a topping is a good one. I blend this with a hand blender, but didn't blend it smooth - I think it's better with a bit of body left to the lentils. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissesMeowmix

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is a great quick and tasty recipe. Lentils work really well, because they cook so quickly relative to other legumes. I cooked this recipe as listed with a couple of substitutions. I substituted 3 shallots for the onion, and about 1 3/4 cups of vegetable stock for the water. I'm also a big fan of using the stick blender to puree soups. It gives it that "restaurant" quality. If you like your soup a little chunkier, you can divide into half, puree one half and mix into the rest of the soup. This is a definite keeper for our vegetarian household. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States