Spicy Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I wanted something special for new years eve, found it! Thanks njmom for this recipe. You should patent this recipe before some big time restaurant gets a taste of it! Seriously, a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I would have given this 3 stars; my Indian husband would have given it 5. Be careful adding salt...some tomato sauces have salt added already. I used half the sugar and chili powder (I buy cp from the Indian grocery..it is hotter) called for in the recipe. I blended the soup with a hand blender and added leftover cooked basmati rice and chopped cilantro. Next time I think I'll leave out the cream and serve it with a dollup of yogurt and sprinkle with chopped cilantro in the style of our fav mulligatawny recipe. I might also try this with coconut milk instead of cream. Even with half the chili powder, my kids thought it was too spicy, but again my Indian husband loved it. We'll make it again with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I just made this...it's quite tasty and easy to make! The only modifications I made were adding a half tsp of coriander powder, and I cut the amount of chili powder I used (from an Indian grocery) to 1 tsp. It was still quite spicy. I'd probably cut it down even further if I make it for people who don't like spice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is quite something (I've modded with a mix of coconut milk/heavy cream). Also fresh cilantro that I needed to use up. I plan to make a batch of this and add cream before microwaving. Need to keep this around for "at whim" snacking. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfpOne23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I used some ginger and garlic separately as I didnt have ginger garlic paste. I also used regular chili powder. I didn't have a can of whole tomatoes, so I crushed them with a hand blender. Worked perfect. My sister came over for dinner, and even though she doesn't usually like soups, she looved this one and even asked for the recipe! My kids and I loved it too. Lovely flavours, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by M. Goldman
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very Good soup. I'm not a huge fan of minimally cooked tomatoes, but this was good and very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Goldman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Isle, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Easy and fast to prepare, delicious results. I substituted a bit of minced ginger and crushed garlic since I didn't have the paste. I used home-canned crushed tomatoes, but if you prefer a smoother consistency you could run the soup through a blender. This was a delicious change of pace for tomato soup. Great Indian flavor, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is good, but I really like the Thai version of this http://trialbyfirewin.blogspot.com/2012/01/thai-spiced-tomato-soup.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I've been sick all week with sinusitis and unable to taste anything well. I thought this would be just the thing to loosen things up. This is delicious! I didn't have Indian chili powder so I used what I had, added some cayenne and 2 dried chili peppers. It was good the first night and great the second night. Thanks for sharing njmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States