Spicy Tomato Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I love this! However, I made a few changes which I think made it better and will help clarify the process. Instead of weighing the tomatoes, I used 12 cups of diced tomatoes, mostly because with less, the cup of vinegar I added to only 8 cups was way too vinegary for my taste. I used only one cup of brown sugar, left out the cayenne and added cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg. I cooked it down for 2 hours and canned 3 pints. The leftover half pint tasted great on fresh bread. I'll be making lots of this - it's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMLYTKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I had too many tomatoes this year so I decided to use them in this recipe, it turned out to be a nice flavour spicy tomato jam. The only thing is that I dobled the recipe and reduced the mix until it had a jam consistency and it didn't fill 7 pints, so... don't spect much from 3lbs of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is great with pork loin, pork chops, or pork roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dscsf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Really great recipe, really homely and fantastically tomatoey. I also questioned the use of lemon and was ready not to put it in as it tasted so good anyway and I didn't want to ruin it. I'm glad I did though as it takes it to a whole new level! Ran out of brown sugar so used half granulated, worked perfectly, though I later realised I had some more in the cupboard. I also ran out of vinegar so drained my pickled onion jar dry! Still tastes gorgeous, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Really good, great on crackers with cream cheese. It's a good way to use up your tomato's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Rivet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Delicious! Family loved it. I grow my own tomatoes and needed to use them and was glad I found this recipe. It did take 1 1/2 hours to reduce but totally worth it. Christmas is around the corner and this will make a great gift alone or in a gift basket. Thank You for reading, lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I used balsamic vinegar because it's what I had. I cut the apple juice and added a chopped apple. Love the combination of spices, reminds me of the sweet and sour meatballs my family makes at Christmas every year. I think this would be good with cranberry juice too. Might try a small batch to see. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Yummy! This is a terrific recipe. We have plenty of tomatoes here in FL. and lemons. I questioned using lemons and tomatoes together and was amazed at how good they worked together. I mixed cream cheese with the jam and served it as a dip. Four guests gobbled it up in an hour and asked for more! I'll be canning this again but, this time, I'll make three batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 or 4 times now and I love it. I have used canned diced tomatoes and fresh tomatoes and it has turned out well each time. I leave the skin on and it makes it a bit chunkier and still tastes good. The recipe is very adaptable, I seldom have all the ingredients and have used different vinegars, apple cider instead of juice, etc. I always simmer it longer on the stove than the recipe says so it thickens properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I was really weirded out by the ingredients in this recipe. So much so that I almost didn't try it, boy am I glad I did. Holy cow it was good! I will be making a ton next summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States