Spicy Tomato Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I was worried about the combination of ingredients, and even while cooking the "jam/relish," I was not certain how it was going to turn out; however, now that it's done, I'm thinking it's pretty near fantastic! I took some suggestions by reviewers and added 1/2 of a finely chopped small Gravenstein apple, 1/8 tsp ground cloves, and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. I did not pack the 1 1/2 C. of brown sugar, but because the jam was too vinegary-sharp tasting, I added another 1/2 C. of unpacked brown sugar. It would be great with cream cheese, chips, chicken or pork. It's worth the extra work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Spices were not intense enough. Used tea masala spice (clove,cardamon, pepper, cinnamon), in addition to those outlined in the recipe. Added double the cayenne and substituted the cider vinegar with balsamic vinegar. Used dark brown sugar to give it a more caramel flavour. Used beet/apple juice combo, pumps up the colour of the jam. A good template to work from but as it stands too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I was really weirded out by the ingredients in this recipe. So much so that I almost didn't try it, boy am I glad I did. Holy cow it was good! I will be making a ton next summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Loved this recipe. Used dark brown sugar. Cooked a double batch for almost 2 hours. Only made 9 half pint jars and the last was not full enough to process. (Which meant that was to be set aside for dinner on fresh baked bread.) Also only used 2 1/2 small sweet lemons. Lemons took it to a whole new level, but I would not use larger ones. Only gave this 4 stars because the directions need to be adjusted for anyone making this for the first-time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Hall Gerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 or 4 times now and I love it. I have used canned diced tomatoes and fresh tomatoes and it has turned out well each time. I leave the skin on and it makes it a bit chunkier and still tastes good. The recipe is very adaptable, I seldom have all the ingredients and have used different vinegars, apple cider instead of juice, etc. I always simmer it longer on the stove than the recipe says so it thickens properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Really great recipe, really homely and fantastically tomatoey. I also questioned the use of lemon and was ready not to put it in as it tasted so good anyway and I didn't want to ruin it. I'm glad I did though as it takes it to a whole new level! Ran out of brown sugar so used half granulated, worked perfectly, though I later realised I had some more in the cupboard. I also ran out of vinegar so drained my pickled onion jar dry! Still tastes gorgeous, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Delicious! Family loved it. I grow my own tomatoes and needed to use them and was glad I found this recipe. It did take 1 1/2 hours to reduce but totally worth it. Christmas is around the corner and this will make a great gift alone or in a gift basket. Thank You for reading, lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Yummy! This is a terrific recipe. We have plenty of tomatoes here in FL. and lemons. I questioned using lemons and tomatoes together and was amazed at how good they worked together. I mixed cream cheese with the jam and served it as a dip. Four guests gobbled it up in an hour and asked for more! I'll be canning this again but, this time, I'll make three batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Really good, great on crackers with cream cheese. It's a good way to use up your tomato's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Rivet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I used balsamic vinegar because it's what I had. I cut the apple juice and added a chopped apple. Love the combination of spices, reminds me of the sweet and sour meatballs my family makes at Christmas every year. I think this would be good with cranberry juice too. Might try a small batch to see. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States