Spicy Tomato Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This makes a really nice chutney. I made half a recipe and it still made a huge amount (1 litre). I only had Thai curry paste, so I substituted 1 tsp of garam masala. No mixed spice either, so used the spices recommended in the editor's note. It went very well with the veggie samosas we ate. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I make as many jars as possible of Spicy Tomato Chutney every Summer from our homegrown tomatoes. We enjoy it on sandwiches all year long! Simply a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I made this recipe customized to 8 servings just to test it out. Kinda goofed and used too much fresh ginger but the results were still excellent! The curry paste I used was 'Bhuna', a tomato based paste. The whole family enjoyed it and I'm about to make up a new batch. Good stuff! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This chutney is sensational. I am on my second batch and sharing with friends. Bread and cheese were made for a chutney like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
ever since we sampled the "Indian Pizza" at Trader Joe's my family got hooked on them. There's a great recipe for "Indian Chapati Bread" on this site too. Now I can't wait to top flat breads with this chutney and sprinkle w/goat cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Love it ! Thanks for posting. For the curry paste, the store had green or red. I got the red and was a little worried it might be to hot, so I put in a little less. But I think I could have put the whole amount if not a little more in. I wasn't sure how long to simmer for, so it simmered for a half hour then I boiled it quickly for about 30sec and then put in the fridge. It was just right. Served it on Trader Joes Tandoori Garlic Naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
excellent! very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
EXCELLENT CHUTNEY. I HAVE MADE NUMEROUS DIFFERENT CHUTNEYS AND THIS WAS THE ONE THAT GOT THE BEST REVIEWS FROM MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY.VERY TASTY WITH JUST A LITTLE KICK GOES WELL WITH EVERYTHING FROM CHEESES TO COLD MEAT PLATTERS AND MY OTHER HALF LOVES IT WITH HIS DINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was delicious. I used curry powder instead of paste, and it turned out just fine. The mixed spice was a perfect mixture, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very nice. I used allspice (assuming that was the same as mixed spice) and it turned out exactly as I thought it should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States