Spicy Tomato Bisque with Grilled Brie Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This is great!! I made the bisque only. Used the purée because that's what recipe calls for and it was fantastic. After about the tenth time making this, I started adding a can of diced tomatoes. Husband loves it!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I had to suit it to my own tastes (and what was in my fridge, because I didn't plan ahead. Still tasted great. I'll make it again. Instead of brie I used havarti because my guy isn't a fan of the pungent french cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I added some grated onion, freshly grated Parmesan cheese and a few more tsp of sugar and it was really good. Beware though, if you do not like a lot of spice, you may want to dial back the red pepper flakes. I like spicy and this was almost too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This wonderful! I made my own puree from tomatoes from our garden. I didn't have brie, but made croutons out of the rye bread and sprinkled on top of the bisque. They added a nice texture and added flavor. I have some more tomatoes to process- will make more bisque this week. Will make sure I have Brie this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I was craving tomato bisque, even in the sweltering August heat, and this hit the spot. We love spicy but next time I will decrease the pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp. Love the creaminess that the cream cheese lent. The brie toast made for a very filling meal but I'm going to forego it with the leftovers. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe is delicious and super easy. I used canned diced fire roasted tomatoes instead of tomato puree because i like some tomato chunks instead of completely smooth. I also added some garlic and some chicken stock to taste. I used baguettes instead of rye with the Brie and I also made some with parmesan. I floated the crostini on top of the soup instead of pouring soup over it because I like a little crunch left in the bread as you eat it. Once I had everything assembled I blended part of the soup to smooth it out and I found the second time I made it that if you blend the cream cheese you won't end up with little bits of cream cheese floating in the soup. If you love tomato soup you will love this. I made it three days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Savory with lots of great robust flavors I love. I've made this many times, and this meal always feels like it feeds my soul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I would disagree with the word "spicy" in the title-- even my spice-phobic four year old liked it and I was generous with the pepper-- but the recipe was fast, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
For everyone who is have trouble getting the cream cheese to blend into the soup... cut it into chunks and let it come to room temperature. It will soften the cheese and allows it to melt perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I used a 14 oz. can of the puree and a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes w/oregano, garlic & basil. I also skipped the toast part. This recipe was so yummy I am going to make it all the time! Thank you so much for posting it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States