Spicy Three Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I subbed peanut butter for the tahini, as it was what I had on hand. (Any nut butter would work.) 8 is too many cloves of garlic - cut it in half and you'll still have plenty. I sauteed my garlic in olive oil before adding it to the food processor with the rest of ingredients. Took care of that raw garlic unpleasantness. I also had to add extra oil and lemon juice; it was dry without. Very good final product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I thought this hummus was almost perfect. I followed the recipe exactly but thought the garlic flavor was a little overwhelming and drowned out the other flavors. I would reduce to 4 cloves of garlic so the flavors balance a little better. Mixing the garbonzo beans can be a bit challenging.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GBUSKIRK
Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I just made this recipe today and it is wonderful! A nice garlicky, spicy bite to it. I used the pepper, cayenne and oregano in amounts to suit my taste. I also made mine in a food processor and needed a little more liquid to blend it properly. I had saved the liquid from the beans just in case I needed it, although water would have been fine. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Technically, mine was Spicy "Two" Pepper Hummus as I got halfway through making it and realized I was out of jalapenos! (A rarity in my house!) But it still turned out great and was very spicy! Like many of the other reviews, I needed to add more liquid so I switched off water & EVOO until I got the right consistency. I also felt it needed more cumin so I added (roughly) another 1/2 tsp. The first time I ever had hummus was in Jerusalem, so I guess I'm kind of a hummus snob. Store bought just dosen't cut it! This recipe was a great spicy version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
My search for the Ultimate Hummus Recipe has ended. I will cut down on the spice next time around due solely to the wimpiness of my palate, but give the recipe a wholehearted thumbs-up. Amazing eaten with multigrain Tostitos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is a great spicy hummus recipe. Though, I made a few changes. First, I used two slices of a fresh jalapeno pepper (seeded and ribs removed). Secondly, I added 1 teaspoon of red wine vinegar since I didn't have the juice from the jar of jalapenos. Lastly, I added 2 tablespoons of plain Greek yogurt to the recipe since I like my hummus very creamy. With these slight changes, I will definitely make this recipe over and over again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEKLEI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This was pretty yummy, but WAY too much garlic. I'm a huge garlic fan and add it to everything so I ignored other reviewers comments about it. Next time I'll roast the garlic along with a red pepper, that way it won't have the same raw garlic bite. I halved the recipe but still had to add another ½ can of beans to make it edible. Also had to add extra liquid. Will definately make again with a few changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I was surprised at how closely it came to the store-bought I love. SO much cheaper and easier to make at home, but for my use I will need to cut the recipe in half unless I'm having a party. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Very good and much more economical than buying the store bought. I needed to add more liquid to get the consistency I like, but the flavor was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Dudley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is a fun new hummus recipe, and since I make hummus atleast once a week, I have to mention that there is not nearly enough liquid in this, if you are going to use food processor [or magic bullet] like I do. I always add mix of oil, water & lemon juice in my hummus. Basically the beans need to be covered in liquid. Still stays plenty thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States