Spicy Three Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
We've made a few hummus recipes and this is our favorite so far. It's full of flavor and the creamiest hummus we have ever had, with a little kick. The spiciness is not too strong, but more of a "warming" effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turner, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My family loved this. Good hummus taste but still had a nice kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is very very close to that "popular brand" of hummus. I didn't have tahini so I did as another user suggested and tried peanut butter. I would not recommend that and next time I would just substitute with more olive oil or just more water. The peanut butter was too strong of a flavor. The overall result was very good... Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Was very good........just can't seem to get it to the right consistnency........still not as good as store.........awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. If you cant find Tahini, you can prepare it in the blender or food processor, make a cream with sesame (ajonjoli) toasted and oil olive. When I dont have jalapeños, I use green peppers (aji verde)or limo peppers (aji limo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
made recipe as stated,then found that it was missing something(salt)when i tasted it,so i added 1/4 tsp of salt.........wow this was spicy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very good, but I must have used too much garlic. Don't get me wrong, we love garlic and eat a lot of it...but I think my cloves were too big or something. I liked the kick of the peppers but I thought the garlic was a little overpowering. When I make again, which I will, I will go for smaller garlics or just decrease the amount. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebarbiedoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This is a fun new hummus recipe, and since I make hummus atleast once a week, I have to mention that there is not nearly enough liquid in this, if you are going to use food processor [or magic bullet] like I do. I always add mix of oil, water & lemon juice in my hummus. Basically the beans need to be covered in liquid. Still stays plenty thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
After reading reviews I made the following changes: Used my food processor instead of mixer. Had to add a little extra juice from beans for consistency.I only used two large cloves of garlic and it was good. When it was first finished it was extremely HOT but after sitting in 'fridge overnight it seemed to mellow out. Still spicy but good. I'll make again and work on the consistency. Maybe a little more EVOO. Definitely worth making. You get 3x as much for about the same price (if you already have tahini).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
WOWIE--SPICY! Not bad though. I had the same trouble as everyone else though. Very dry. I ended up adding approx 2 TBSP water, almost another TBSP oil, and probably about another 2 TBSP of lemon juice. Nice thing about this recipe is you can just keep adding until you get the consistency you like. The extra lemon juice MADE this recipe. I really didn't care for it without the extra juice. It was VERY garlicy so next time I plan to scale that down by 1 or two cloves. And I only used 1 tsp Red Pepper (Thank God). Otherwise its good, its just got a kick! Will most likely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States