Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I found this recipe when I was trying to find a good recipe for a soup to use my leftover Fire Cider immune tonic vegetables. I used vegetables from my Fire Cider (ginger, horseradish, onion, turmeric, burdock root, garlic, orange zest, rosemary, jalepeno and cayenne pepper fermented in apple cider vinegar for a month) along with everything else plus mung bean sprouts except the red pepper, chiles, saffron (expensive) fish sauce,and yogurt (to keep it vegan). It was a tangy,spicy delicious treat to my tastebuds and I was happy to find something to make with the leftover fermented veggies! Yvonne Naturopathic med student
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe depends a lot on your taste, so you must play with it. Personally, I thought that 1/2 cup of dry wine and 2 tbs of fish sauce was enough. I added a full package of diced firm tofu. I did not do the rice part because I prefer rice noodles. You can replace (although not as good) lemon grass with a full lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anoushka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Have made this recipe several times. Halfed the rice and made it with chicken as well as following the recipe exactly as is. Doubled carrots and used spinach rather than broccoli. I like the spinance better than broccoli, too. Used sour cream instead of plain yogurt everytime. Used the juice of one lemon b/c didn't have lemon grass. Yum! Not a fan of cilantro, so never used it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made it twice and love it. I prefer to cook the broccoli and bell pepper shorter so they are still a bit crisp when the soup is done so add them 15 minutes after I start simmering everything together. Love the lemon grass and fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Rouge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent! I had some leftover veggies and rice and found it a wonderful way to re-invent them. As for the negative reviews, one has to like Thai cooking in order to like the soup. It's all a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Absolutely love this! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
this recipe is very good. It's kind of light and very filling at the same time. It is quite spicy so if you don't like that i'd reduce the chili peppers. Also i subbed the lemon grass (didn't have any) for lemon zest. I pureed about half of it to retain some texture and everyone in my family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was delicious. A little too spicy. I would recommend either the chile pepper OR the pepper garlic sauce, not both. Like others, I did not blend the soup, but that might be worth trying in the future. I skipped the saffron and added the juice of half of a lime since I thought it was missing a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I didnt like it at all, I followed the recipe except for the saffron but I cant imagine that the saffron would change the taste very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
One of the best soups ever. It has a strong complex flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States