Spicy Thai Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Absolutely delicious! I left out the garlic and pepper sauce and increased the quantities of veggies. Great for getting vegetables into those who turn their noses up. Like a thick and morish green thai curry sauce so would be great on chicken, beef or prawns. I'm really impressed with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This was perfect after a weekend of over indulgence. It's quite filling without being heavy. I left out the saffron but added in some kaffir lime leaves while it simmered and removed them before I pureed it. I agree that it would be great with the addition of almost any kind of meat. Will absolutely be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Great soup, it works well with white rice too, even with white rice for sushi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Yum! My boyfriend and I both couldn't stop raving about this recipe! I only changed the recipe a little; I only used 2 chili peppers, I subsituted the bell pepper with three celery stalks, replaced lemon grass with a tsp lemon juice, and couldn't find my fish sauce or chili garlic sauce (oh, roommates...) and used about half a cup of cilantro. It was a fabulous bread dipper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This recipe was phenomenal. Very adaptable--I didn't have any lemon grass, and I substituted mushrooms and potatoes in place of the broccoli and carrots. It basically tastes like red Thai curry, just a little more soup-like--it's delicious. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I really dislike the texture of pureed soups, so I skipped that part. I omitted the saffron because it's a bit pricey. I also had to cut the pepper garlic sauce and fish sauce because I couldn't find them. I didn't simmer for quite so long because I didn't want the vegetables to get soft. Everything else I kept the same though and WOW! It's a very thin soup, but with the rice it's quite filling and sooooo delicious! oh the flavors are just fantastic, and we didn't miss the meat at all. It's a fantastic main dish all by itself. The coconut milk is slightly sweet, which balances out the peppers and ginger. Absolutely wonderful, and I definitely plan to make it again. Edit: stll haven't gotten the garlic sauce, but did get some fish sauce. would definitely recommend NOT using the amt listed in the recipe. fish sauce is ridiculously potent and a little goes a long way. 3tbsp is obscene. 1 tbsp is more than enough, maybe even too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This is a fantastic soup recipe. I added eggplant from my garden and lemongrass from my garden. I cooked a whole chicken and used the stock and meat. I did not puree the soup. I added sliced mushrooms and left out the sour cream and cilantro. My husband and kids loved it, too. Thanks so much for a great recipe!! Can't wait to make it again. Sincerely, A mom from Pennsylvania
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Excellent and super easy! I sometimes make it with chicken broth instead of veggie and always use broth in place of the wine. This soup freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was a great tasting recipe. I couldn't find saffron nor the thai pepper garlic sauce nor the thai chilies but the soup turned out great regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Super Yummy! We added chicken to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States