Spicy Thai Steak and Vegetable Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Hi, guys! You know what? I read the reviews before I made this, so I sorta blanched the noodles in the boiling water for a minute. But this recipe was fantastic! Me and my grandsons thoroughly munched this dish! In fact, we liked the cabbage and Ramen noodles cooked together so much that, next time, I'm just gonna make those with a little broth and seasonings! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
this came out super nice.. instead of using ramen noodles i used angel hair pasta.. i still used both seasoning packets while cooking the pasta.. i didnt have thai chili peanut sauce so i used half pb and half garlic chili sauce.. i feel like the beef could have used a little salt while being cooked.. because although i dont feel the dish is bland.. when i bite into a piece of steak.. there's no real flavor there.. also i would have liked to have had more sauce.. didn't have any red bell pepper or bean sprouts unfortunately.. im sure they could have added something more to the dish.. but i wasn't missing it.. i always make sure to tenderize tougher cuts of meat to hell and back to ensure it's not going to be chewy.. didn't have that problem with this dish.. ty for the start of something good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smarino27
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I would make this recipe again but with a few tweaks of my own. I'd use a better quality steak because the top round would've been better if it were more tender. Definitely only pre-cook the ramen noodles briefly (like 1 min.) before draining because they are going to soften a lot more once you add them into your stir fry pan and you don't want them to be overly mushy. Or if you can spare the time just use a thicker type of noodle instead of the ramen and substitute the ramen beef seasoning packet with beef stock or a small beef bouillon cube. We didn't have thai spices, or peanut sauce, and improvised by adding curry seasoning, peanut butter, cayenne pepper, & soy sauce - it came out very good! I'd recommend this meal if you're looking to make a quick, easy, and delish weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Excellent! Used Louisana Cajun Shrimp Boil as seasoning vs. regular Cajun, holy cow - nice kick! Also used Rice Noodles and there was enough liquid left in the vegies and meat to coat them but next time, I would season the noodles with a bit of ginger in the pot when cooking. I didn't have bean sprouts or green onions so I used a can of fancy Chinese vegatables which worked out great! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I started the evening with 7 ppl to feed & 3/4lbs of top round. I came upon this recipe and scaled it up to 6 servings. That converted the Peanut Sauce to 3 cups. 3 cups would have made this a soup! I also couldn't find Thai chili peanut sauce but my local store had Thai peanut sauce. I used the entire 13oz bottle but no more. I also didn't use the broth. Again I think it would have been too soupy. I cooked the noodles with one seasoning pack but put the other two in the sauce (there's the broth flavor, right?) Everything else I left the same except omitted the mushrooms (kids don't like). It was outstanding! It was easy and healthy and really delicious. I usually serve stir fries on rice so this was a nice change. The only person who didn't like it was my daughter's 16-year-old friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
the noodles came out soggy and i thought it was tasteless overall. I'd stick with some of the suggestions posted if you're making this for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I have made this two times so far, with slight modifications. The first time I used diced chicken breast instead of beef, which worked well. The second time I used chicken top ramen and no meat, but the noodles came out a bit soggy. Either beef noodles hold up better, or a few seconds makes the difference between firm and soggy noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sociecide
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I just tried this recipe out last night. I'm more of a BBQ guy rather than stove top, so it took me a while to prepare everything, but it was well worth it. The ramen noodles were surprisingly good... I had my doubts that it would come out good because of the packaged ramen. I think if you boil the noodles in too much water it'll cause it to become mushy and slimy. Mine came out perfect. My girlfriend LOVED IT! This was my first Asian dish and I am very happy with how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sociecide
Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This was soo easy and delicious! The noodles were a bit soggy as other people said. May use different ones next time. People also suggested more flavor which was a big help so I used more peanut sauce soy sauce and sautéed ginger with the steak. I'll probably use more peppers next time. The biggest hit was that I added peanuts to the dish. It gives a great crunch and flavor. Perfect intro to cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was good however the raman noodles were mushy cooking them 3 minutes as the package instructions indicated. I would recommend not cooking them more than 2 minutes (not sure all raman noodles are the same as far as cooking directions, we got ours at an Asian market). The meat needed to be tenderized and it needed a little more kick. Otherwise it was pretty good. We had Peanut sauce on hand so we just added some Chili pepper sauce. Probably needed to add a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States