Spicy Thai Coconut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very good. I needed more red curry paste than what the recipe calls for but still very good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
With a few minor changes, this turned out great - it was as good as take out! I increased the red curry paste to 3.5 tablespoons, added sliced red bell peppers with the other veggies, and put fresh basil leaves in for the last 2 minutes. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara112x

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
An easy thai dish that will leave you feeling like you just ate out. I added some pineapple and pineapple juice to sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisanne Roth Steverson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This has been a time-honored recipe for my husband and me. It's fast and easy, very tasty, and can be modified easily. It's also good with a few leaves of fresh basil mixed in at the last minute (so they are just wilted) and I LOVE it with a squeeze of lime. Sometimes we use sliced chicken breast in place of the shrimp, allowing it to fully cook before adding the other ingredients to the skillet. I like to thinly slice red bell pepper and add that for an additional Thai touch. An old favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Holy wow! Delish! I improvised on this recipe in a big way: I replaced the asparagus with half a pkg of frozen mixed string beans and baby carrots (personal preference), added about 1.5 tablespoons of fresh chopped parsley, 1 bunch of fresh spinach (whole), one 14 oz. can of pineapple chunks (thoroughly drained and rinsed), and upped the red curry paste to about 4.5 tsps (to a medium spiciness). In essence the dish becomes Pineapple Curry with Shrimp (another Thai restaurant dish). I served the shrimp dish over coconut rice with raisins (a recipe from my childhood in Latin America) and the whole meal was awesome! If you're feeling adventurous, try the recipe as a starter/base for your own creation. It serves like an authentic Thai restaurant meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Child of the World

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Yum! Didn't have any red curry paste, so I used about 2 tbsp regular curry paste. I also added 2 cloves of garlic. The sauce is thin, so after cooking the rice I just added it to the pan & it soaked up everything nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOUT100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Fantastic and soooo easy! Regular coconut milk was perfect. Several people suggested adding more curry paste which is perfect but add it to your own taste! I pre-cooked string beans to use instead and it worked just as well. This is a keeper. My dinner guests went crazy over this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This dish was just as tasty as one you would eat at a good Thai restaurant! I used regular coconut milk, instead of light. Also, I highly recommend adding about 4 tablespoons of fresh cilantro at the end of cooking. I did, and I think it really made the dish especially wonderful. My husband and I frequent Thai restaurants, and he said this was just as good as anything he'd eaten out. It was easy to make to boot! This will definitely be a regular at our house, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I thought this was delicious and so did my friend. I couldn't find Thai curry paste but had some Indian Tandoori paste, put in about 2 tablespoons and about a teaspoon of cayenne and it was great. I did have to cook the asparagus longer than was recommended - about 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOPRANO39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
good dish just dont let it get cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shafter, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States