Spicy Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Wonderful.. I dont like sweet potatoes with a lot of sugar, but the cajun seaoning really tempered that.. was wonderful. I ate too many but it was delicious. I baked these on my silpat.. no sticking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Thought this was a refreshing way to eat sweet potato (this is on page 4 of search results for 'sweet potato', with the other 4 pages being sweet potato casserole recipes). It took a while longer to cook. Eased up on the brown sugar as I don't love candied sweet potatoes. Great side dish to dinner with a super healthy veggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Good starting point, but it tasted a little bland to me. More Cajun seasoning is needed. I used 1 tsp. Tony Chachere's creole seasoning, but added a few shakes of garlic powder, cayenne pepper and black pepper. I baked it on a cookie sheet for 30 minutes at 375 degrees using the convection oven setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I've made a very similar version for years, omitting the brown sugar, and simply cutting the sweet potatoes in half, rubbing with a little oil and sprinkling on the Cajun seasoning. It's a more diabetic friendly version and absolutely delicious. I'm sure the brown sugar in this recipe would work well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My husband loved this (so did I!). Normally I make sweet potatoes very sweet - with maple syrup, brown sugar, etc. This was a very nice change from that. I was trying it out to see if we should do this for Thanksgiving this year and he said "YES"! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickenlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Yum yum!! So good, I could eat this on it's own for a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I loved this recipe. Like the others, I omitted the brown sugar altogether and it was amazing. I put the potatoes on a low broil setting in the last 2 minutes to crisp them up. They were a HUGE hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This recipe was pretty darn good! I added marshmallows on top, it helped with the kick! Definitely recommend A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I didn't have any cajun seasoning on hand so substituted it for a smokey mesquite seasoning I had. Still turned out amazing. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States