Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I would give 10 stars if possible. This is SO GOOD and easy. Our one change was to use a hand blender to puree the soup in the pot after adding the sweet potatoes, lemon juice and salt because we prefer it that way. The sesame oil and cilantro garnshes are a must. Makes 4 large bowls of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Delicious! Definitly puree the final product - YUM. I didn't change anything else and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This soup was amazing! I didn't add the sesame oil; but I'll try that the next time. I agree with the other reviewer; add some crusty bread to serve with the soup. This can be a meal with bread and a salad. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
YUM! i served with crusty french bread and a salad and my guests were siked. VERY IMPORTANT though, do not forget the sesame oil, it made all the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheaton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This recipe is delicious and addictive! I did the slow cooker method, pureed the veggies and added coconut milk at the end. I also used panang curry paste and skipped the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I also used the boiling method because I wanted to speed up this process. I pureed the soup with the coconut milk in the blender. The end result was creamy and had a great flavor too! Fresh cilantro is a must! This reminds me of my favorite soup from a Thai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Very nice soup, I only changed a few things...I used organic cold pressed coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, because it is healthier & also smells wonderful! I also put in a touch of honey and some toasted shredded coconut on top for garnish. Terrific soup thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haloluna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
So easy and so good! I used extra red curry because I love the flavor, chicken broth and lime juice because that is what I had, and did not add toasted sesame oil. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
UNBELIEVABLE !!!! This is really tastey. I used curry powder instead of paste and chicken broth instead of veg. I will definitely make this again..and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
We love this soup so much, we've gone through two batches in the past 5 days! It's wonderful made exactly to recipe, and we loved it even more with these very minor alterations: - Used powdered coconut milk (reconstituted with water, according to box directions). It's cheaper and lower fat than canned. - Didn't care for the sesame oil the first time around so omitted it for batch #2. Much better. (I think the flavor of sesame oil, even just a drop, doesn't pair well with the coconut, which I really adore.) - Nuked the sweet potatoes and mashed them before adding them to the soup. Faster/easier. - Pureed the whole shebang (in both batches). Makes a beautifully smooth and creamy finished product. Thanks for sharing this recipe! It's a hit in our house, and we're serving it to company next weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERRADANCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States