Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is sooo good and so easy to make. I blended it up in my vitamix to make it nice and creamy. A new favorite and just in time for cold winter evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was *fantastic*!! I will definitely be making this again. Next time I'll try adding some extra firm tofu. I peeled and chopped the potatoes before roasting to get some nice color and roasted flavor. I tossed them in a very small amount of vegetable oil to prevent sticking/burning. I also grated the ginger as I didn't want to bite into a chunk of ginger. I didn't need the whole teaspoon of salt, I only added about 1/2 teaspoon and it was plenty. And like the other reviewers, I don't think it needs the sesame oil. But the freshness of the cilantro was a nice finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was fabulous! I used leftover sweet potatos and added a bit of cayenne pepper at the end to give it just a tad more kick. Also used more curry than called for. Great fall "warm me up" soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I would give 10 stars if possible. This is SO GOOD and easy. Our one change was to use a hand blender to puree the soup in the pot after adding the sweet potatoes, lemon juice and salt because we prefer it that way. The sesame oil and cilantro garnshes are a must. Makes 4 large bowls of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Delicious! Definitly puree the final product - YUM. I didn't change anything else and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This soup was amazing! I didn't add the sesame oil; but I'll try that the next time. I agree with the other reviewer; add some crusty bread to serve with the soup. This can be a meal with bread and a salad. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
YUM! i served with crusty french bread and a salad and my guests were siked. VERY IMPORTANT though, do not forget the sesame oil, it made all the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheaton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This recipe is delicious and addictive! I did the slow cooker method, pureed the veggies and added coconut milk at the end. I also used panang curry paste and skipped the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I also used the boiling method because I wanted to speed up this process. I pureed the soup with the coconut milk in the blender. The end result was creamy and had a great flavor too! Fresh cilantro is a must! This reminds me of my favorite soup from a Thai restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States