Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
My husband and I loved this soup! The fresh cilantro is a must. Alterations I made were: -I added mushrooms and corn while cooking the onions/ginger/curry paste -I also added about 1 cup of COOKED brown rice to make it more hearty. -I added some chili flakes to turn up the heat since my red curry paste wasn't that spicy. After adding the rice, we were able to eat the soup and a piece of toast as a great meal! Thanks for the recipe Lynn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita KJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Very tasty soup! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and pureed the soup when it was done. Makes great leftovers too, just add some extra broth to thin the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
A great comfort food for a cold day! I roughly mashed the sweet potatoes before adding them to the soup for thickness and texture - my husband and I loved every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
So easy and delicious. I followed the recipe (but didn't have sesame oil or cilantro), then pureed it and topped with a dollop of yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
YUMMY! To make it quicker and easier I boiled 4 cups of chicken stock with 2 sweet pots and 1 sweet onion, chunked up, and the sliced ginger. Once the veggies were soft, I used an immersion blender and pureed until creamy. Then added the coconut milk, red curry, salt (I used a little less than 1 tsp) and about 1/4 tsp of cayenne 'cause I like it spicy. SUPER GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This soup improved while eating, but started out very disappointing given the rave reviews. We ate it with buttered bread and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this several weeks ago and am making it again! It is very addictive! Because I made so much the first time, I froze it in individual containers to take to work. I used the blender to make it very creamy. I did not put the cilantro in before freezing, just added it when I reheated. I was apprehensive about freezing this, but it was fantastic and still creamy, not grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Monmouth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This soup was ok. However, you definitely don't taste the sweet potato with all the spices, which is what I was hoping for. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
What a hit! This soup smelled so good while it was simmering, my husband wanted to dive right in the pot! I used low-fat coconut milk, grated the ginger on a Microplane instead of slicing it, and used a box of chicken broth instead of veggie broth. I used an immersion blender to halfway puree it, but also left some pieces of potato for a nice texture. Thanks for the recipe---we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Great. I made for Thanksgiving 2009. Huge hit, except for Mom who doesn't like spicy. I made about 3 hours early, and placed in crock pot on warm until time for Thanksgiving dinner, stirring occasionally. Added cilantro at last minute. Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Grilled Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Check out this cool way to make potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States