Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I really enjoyed the soup and was pleasantly surprised with the taste. There were a few things I omitted bc I didn't have it or chose not to use it; cilantro, sesame oil and substitute vegetable broth and used chicken broth. I'll definitely have this soup again; however, I'll take the advice of another reviewer and be sure to shave the "hairs" from the fresh ginger or even use ginger paste to give that flavor that only it has. I wasn't sure how the ginger would be being that it was still in the soup, but it actually had a mellow flavor and wasn't as pungent as I thought it'd be. Oh yeah, i used my last 2 tbsp of lemon juice so the third was lime bc i like how lime marries with Asian dishes. Great recipe in spite of the subtle changes I made..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael B.
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter and ended up with a disappointing vat of bland unpleasant liquid. I ended up creaming it and adding a lot of other ingredients to make it edible. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Amazing recipe. I also added a small can of creamed corn and did as suggested by some and blended at least halp of the sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This soup was incredible! Really one of the best soups I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snowhiker7
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Everyone loved this soup. The sesame oil and cilantro was just the finishing touch necessary to top it off. It's definitely good without it, but you don't know what you're missing if you don't add it. Super easy to prepare. I too put it in the blender at the end and it worked perfectly. Will be a permanent fixture in my comfort foods directory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
this I will make over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnysets
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
One of my all time faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
VERY good recipe. I got kudos from all of my family members because of this recipe. Modifications: 1. I didn't have red curry paste, so I just added some red pepper flakes to taste. 2. I didn't have vegetable broth handy, so I pureed some of the sweet potatoes with a bit of water and some buillon. I excluded the salt from the recipe because there is plenty of salt in buillon. 3. I didn't use sesame oil... don't like it. 4. I grated up some ginger so that it would match the consistency of the soup. (not sliced like the recipe says.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I'm a newbie, and forgot to shave off the hairy outside of the ginger root, make sure you do that!! Also, my sweet potatoes must have been small since one of them completely exploded all over my oven after only 25 minutes. I salvaged the other one and still ate the soup, which was good but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States