Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
EXCELLENT flavor! Fast supper technique: Put up broth to boil, (I used chicken rather than vegetable) peel the sweet potatoes, chunk them up into the broth, chunk up the onion and add to the broth. Substitution for curry paste and fresh ginger: 1 t chili powder, 1 t cumin, 1 t ginger, and 1 T curry powder. Once the potatoes were cooked, puree in the blender with the lemon juice and then pour back into pan and add the coconut milk, chopped cilantro & sesame oil. I skipped the salt. VERY tasty and quick! Garnished with a seasoned sour cream/yogurt blend and we can hardly wait to have leftovers tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Exceptional! Will make it again and again. Substituted curry paste with 1 t-spoon of cumin, 1t curry, 1t ginger, 1t chili.) Also pureed one small bunch of cilantro with 1/2 a lemon worth of lemon juice and added a teaspoon of the mixture to each plate. The green cilantro mass against the red soup base looked very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faina Shpiler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Really good. A great way to use the leftover sweet potatoes from Thanksgiving. The only reason I'm giving it four stars instead of five is that my boyfriend wasn't wild about the soup. I made the following changes to make the soup healthier and more authentic: 1. Used lite coconut milk from Trader Joe's instead of regular coconut milk to cut down on the calorie and fat content 2. I added more curry paste than the recipe called for- about 1 1/2 table spoons. I really like Thai curry flavor and I'm used to really strong Thai curries from restaurants. 3. Substituted fish sauce for the salt in the recipe and I added it while the soup was simmering 4. I cooked it for way longer than the original recipe calls for. After I added the sweet potatoes I simmered the soup for about a half hour. 5. Here's the big thing. The soup tasted bland, but I put 3/4ths of the batch into the blender and it made the soup go from ok to great. It made all the flavor from the sweet potatoes come out. 6. I added the cilantro, but not the sesame oil. The soup really didn't need the extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
SLOW COOKER OPTION. Put all but coconut milk into slow cooker. Be sure to peel and dice sweet potatoes. Turn on low heat for 7 hours. Process through blender, put back in cooker. Add coconut milk and garnishes (diced red peppers, cilantro, options are endless...) serve with home made bread. Tastes even better when curry marries overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silagh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
i love this recipe! I have made it twice now. I also add vegetables with the onions so that the soup is more hearty with cubed tofu before adding the liquid. Its great. i never have the curry paste, so instead i use chilis, curry powder, cumin and coriander powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I LOVED this. Totally authentic and totally thai. I boiled my sweet potato's and also added a 1 can of sweet potato's. I used 2 limes and some lemon juice. I also added more red curry paste. I did not puree this like some had suggested, and I don't find it necessary either. I would think that leaving it as is gives it a better texture. I also added cooked shrimp and it went perfectly. The toasted sesame oil was a great garnish, it really added a warmth to the dish. Don't forget to top it off with the cilantro... DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Delicious and so easy and fast. I prefer this type of soup creamy so I peeled and cubed the sweet potatos then boiled them (faster than baking) I them added the water from boiling to my vegetable broth for more sweet potato flavour and blended. Served with a tbsp of sour cream with diced cilantro whipped in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is the BEST soup I have ever made! I've been trying some coconut curry recipes on this site, and this is exactly what I was looking for. Restaurant quality. I added a handful of mushroom slices. Next time, I'll add more. I just made this soup a second time and I puried it after it was done. This time I didn't add mushrooms. Very good. drinkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I omitted the salt and sesame oil and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also peel, diced, and boiled the sweet taters until tender rather than baking them. This is very flavorful and has a nice spicy kick (depending on the heat of your curry paste). I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
My husband and I love this soup! I made it lots of times, it's so easy, but tastes sooo good and different! The combination of the sweet potato, the coconut and the spicy curry is awesome. It's a winner to show off to friends and family. The fresh cilantro is a must. I also add mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States