Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I made this soup today. I will not change anything. It really is good. A keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
i love this recipe! I have made it twice now. I also add vegetables with the onions so that the soup is more hearty with cubed tofu before adding the liquid. Its great. i never have the curry paste, so instead i use chilis, curry powder, cumin and coriander powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
My husband and I love this soup! I made it lots of times, it's so easy, but tastes sooo good and different! The combination of the sweet potato, the coconut and the spicy curry is awesome. It's a winner to show off to friends and family. The fresh cilantro is a must. I also add mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Great soup! I changed a few things...I added squash and actually pureed it and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Delicious! We doubled the curry paste to add more spice and also added about a teaspoon of fish sauce. As another reader recommended, we added mushrooms and next time I'll add red bell peppers too. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Excellent! I added straw mushrooms and used a mixture of American and Vietnamese sweet potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I made it for an Autumn equinox appetizer soup. It was completely devoured. Next time I would add some whole straw mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is the BEST soup I have ever made! I've been trying some coconut curry recipes on this site, and this is exactly what I was looking for. Restaurant quality. I added a handful of mushroom slices. Next time, I'll add more. I just made this soup a second time and I puried it after it was done. This time I didn't add mushrooms. Very good. drinkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
sauted Onion and Ginger in Coconutbutter, used red chili paste + 1 Tbsp. Currypwd. instead of red curry paste, then added Coconutmilk, Stock and cubed Sweet Potatoe, cook for 20 Min., puree and added lemon and cilantro, no salt... wonderful soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was full of flavor and easy to make. You can also blend it in a food processor if you prefer a creamier soup. I recommend more ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States