Spicy Sweet Potato and Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was GREAT! I was looking of new ways of cooking sweet potatos and this is a great one. Here are my changes: -I added more curry paste, 2 garlic cloves, some cayenne pepper and shrimps. -I replaced the salt by nuoc nam (fish sauce) and used chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth. -I mashed the roasted sweet potatos before adding them to the soup. Very flavourful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
While this recipe was extremely flavorful, I am only giving it 3 stars because the flavor was not particularly appealing to me. My husband tasted it and was surprised by the "intense" coconut flavor while I felt that the lemon and ginger were overpowering. I felt that there were too many strong conflicting flavors. I followed the advise on someone else's comment and pureed the sweet potatoes, a step I regretted as it turned the soup into a very very liquidy substance. I allowed it to simmer for about 2 hours which changed the soup into a more desirable consistency. I also added an extra teaspoon of curry paste because we like spice, which even that extra curry did not make it much spicier. It was beautiful with the sesame oil and cilantro in it when served! And I also did not have vegetable broth on hand and thus used chicken broth, which we could not taste in the soup so I don't think it made much of a difference. While my husband and I both ate the soup for dinner, we will not be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was really good and I will definitely make it again! It tastes even better as leftovers because the sweet potatoes have a chance to soak in the spices more. Just be sure your sweet potatoes cook all the way through. Part of one potato ended up a little crunchy, so I did my best to only put the soft pieces in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This soup is great, but only if you BLEND IT. Without blending it, you end up with bland pieces of sweet potato and chunks of ginger. Blending the soup makes a wonderful creamy soup with a great mix of flavors. I've made this with vegetable broth and with chicken broth and both work fine, but I liked the vegetable broth better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
OMG, this was so good! What a great blend of flavors. I pureed the soup at the end and really liked the result. Didn't have any sesame oil but we did add some cilantro which gave it a nice tang. But it's good without too. Oh, and didn't add salt either. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Really really nice and easy to make soup. Followed others advice and used hand blender to smooth it out at end. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
My husband and I loved this soup! The fresh cilantro is a must. Alterations I made were: -I added mushrooms and corn while cooking the onions/ginger/curry paste -I also added about 1 cup of COOKED brown rice to make it more hearty. -I added some chili flakes to turn up the heat since my red curry paste wasn't that spicy. After adding the rice, we were able to eat the soup and a piece of toast as a great meal! Thanks for the recipe Lynn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita KJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Very tasty soup! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and pureed the soup when it was done. Makes great leftovers too, just add some extra broth to thin the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
A great comfort food for a cold day! I roughly mashed the sweet potatoes before adding them to the soup for thickness and texture - my husband and I loved every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
So easy and delicious. I followed the recipe (but didn't have sesame oil or cilantro), then pureed it and topped with a dollop of yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States